Five-Hundred Word Challenge 277: Drilling on the Outside

There is drilling somewhere on the outside into the room of which I am currently situated.

It is almost as though they are trying to bore into my skull, for I can almost feel the sensation of drilling, so loud as it is and so frequent it occurs.

What are they drilling for?

Is it for gold?
Is it for knowledge?

Is it in order to ascertain some sort of meaning from the building that they have been looking for for a millennia, yet are still unable to find for all the bricks can tell is how the building was constructed?

Are they merely helping with construction and reconstruction and the timing was bad as there is currently a class on in here which the people doing the drilling were not aware of that would be happening today, therefore leading to this class having to put up with the non-rhythmic drilling whilst the people on the outside keep on working away on what it is that they need to do?

I do not have the answers, although sometimes I wish I did.

All I know right now is that the person who is running this tutorial is explaining to us how we need to do something and I am writing whilst also having the feeling of people drilling into my skull, or perhaps my being when they are drilling as it is loud and able to be felt as not only is the drilling occurring outside, but it is also closer than I thought it would be, although with that being said I did not have an idea of how close the drilling would be as I am merely inside whilst the people doing the drilling are merely outside.

All I can do is continue to persist and try to keep focus to that which is inside this room, perhaps continue to type away at whatever it is that I need to type and engage myself in the knowledge that is being given to us.

I need to try and keep my mind primed and ready to go so that all that is said is retained. If not all, then at least as much as possible.

How much is possible?
How much is enough?

At this current time, I do not know.

I am not sure for there is still more to learn than I probably think.

I also do not know as to how useful this information will be in the future.

All I can do is keep on growing my tree. If the branch grows short, then surely there will be parts that grow off of it and extend further, for even if it is not as useful as it may currently seem, it can still serve as an important foundation for knowledge that will build off of it, therefore leading to it being important to my knowing in a way that I may not have initially expected.

Thankfully the drilling has now stopped.

But for how long?

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 07:01:92

Pretty happy with the speed.

I think that I was going for something that was a slightly prose-laden telling of something that was happening and then this became something else.

Pretty happy with the result.

Written at UNSW.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

