Five-Hundred Word Challenge 275: Words Upon Words Upon Words

Bars are on the windows and the windows are in the frames.

I am looking at keys with characters on them, yet they do not act or speak for they choose to remain silent and still as it is much safer for them than if they decide to becoming animated and lively.

In the desk are patterns of wood as it had aged as a tree, perhaps to make the desk look more appealing or authentic. I am not sure, for this desk is not one that I have created, for I know not the process that goes into making a desk, nor do I have the skills required.

Well, I lack the skills at this point in time. Perhaps my future self will have the skills.

Screens producing data that is easy to visualise are what my eyes currently see as I await for something to complete a task before I can move onto another one in the long list of tasks that need tackling for today.

Words upon words upon words spill out and all over the screens as I try to keep up, yet I find myself falling behind with every line that passes mi vision, for as much as I try to keep up with the visual display, it is able to put out more information than I can conceivably read given the time that I am provided, leading to my being engulfed by language that is far more efficient at displaying itself than I am at consuming its meaning.

I am merely a human in an office at a day of work and I am here to serve as much as I can to best of my ability.

I am a mass of many things copmbined together to form a single organism that works as autonomously as required and there is not much else that is currently required.

There is a day outside that I am currently unable to visit and unable to embrace.

The light looks clear and the wind light, the sky soft rather than hard with the storms that sometimes we must experience.

It is calling out through the bars on the windows in the frames, trying to tempt me away from my duties.

Perhaps one day it will, but for now I must remain here and continue my reign of diligence upon the customers, for there are many and I am merely one man, as opposed to many people.

Perhaps the sun will kiss my face once I step outside at the end of the day, greeting me just before it decides to sink below the horizon, reminding me that it will once more return in the morning to try and greet me once more.

I do not know if I will be ready, but I will be there, waiting for it to rise over the buildings, over the city, over the waters, over my small part of the world to illuminate all that I consider to be my immediate surroundings.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 07:37:47

I’m not sure as to what was happening with this bit of text.

I think that maybe I was trying to be a little poetic.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

