Five-Hundred Word Challenge 265: Pedestrian Rant

Sunday?

IT’S SUNDAY?!

So I was going to write this yesterday, but procrastination took over, so now I am writing what I am about to write today.

Today I am ranting about pedestrians. Drivers will get a brief break and I may include a little about other cyclists, but today is predominantly pedestrians.

Pedestrians. We love them. They  are so very much the type to walk about in places and other places.

What I really like about them is that they seem to want to refuse as much as possible to be aware of their surroundings which leads to a number of problems.

The other day I had left my place. There was a big car in front of me. I was on my bike. There was a pedestrian walking on the road.

Seeing them walk on the road on my street is not unusual, but usually they get out of the way when there are vehicles approaching.

Not this one.

They kept on walking in the middle of the road and were walking at a casual pace.

Of course the big car was right behind them and had to stop and wait.

The pedestrian did not turn around or move out of the way, so the driver honked their horn.

The pedestrian then decided to turn around, then continue walking at their casual pace as though they did not have any obligation whatsoever to get off the road, or walk faster.

Something like this is not unusual. Well, it is unusual on my street, but otherwise pedestrians choosing to be as oblivious as they can possibly be is not something that I consider as being unusual due to the rampant frequency at which it seems to occur.

There have been times when I’ve almost taken someone out because they decided to start crossing at a time when they are not meant to be on the road due to traffic flow.

There have been times when they’ve decided that the best course of action is to ignore a bell that is being rung to indicate for them to move out of the way.

There have been times I have seen them decide to block a pathway by standing there, ignore the vehicle steadily approaching them and then give a dirty look because supposedly it is a crime to not want to cause an accident.

I think that there are far too many pedestrians think that they are entitled to do whatever they want because of the unjustified belief that they can’t be responsible for bad outcomes.

When I say that I think there are far too many, I mean more than one pedestrian.

Pedestrians, you are not invincible. No one thinks you are invincible. No one wants to cause you to become horribly mangled in some manner. No one wants to be in an accident because you decided to obstruct traffic because you think you are important.

Stop behaving as though right of way means right to be an asshole.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:43:83

Well, this rant certainly was… pedestrian.

A haw haw haw, haw haw, haw haw haw, haw.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

