Five-Hundred Word Challenge 263: On Blocking Someone’s Gate with a Car due to Bad Parking

Yesterday morning, before heading off to university, I headed to the café near my place to grab something to take home to drink.

There was a car partially parked on the kerb in front of my place.
This was nothing out of the ordinary.
What was out  of the ordinary was just how close they were to my gate.

There was little space to move around, leaving a slight risk of scraping their car through little fault of my own.

When I was leaving my place, a lady and a kid were getting in the car.
The kid took a quick look at me. The lady looked at me in a way that could have passed for a dirty look.

I’m sorry that you don’t know how to park a car and that my leaving my house seems to be offensive to you. Next time I’ll make sure to respect the fact that you’re an asshole.

As said before, a car partially parked on the kerb in front of my place is nothing out of the ordinary.
I live on a narrow street and as just about everyone on my street thinks that they need to drive (with it likely being that very few of them need to drive) instead of catching public transport , the ones that don’t have a driveway or a garage have collectively decided to park their cars partially on the kerb.

I don’t have a problem with this and, as far as I am aware, no one else on the street has a problem.

Usually people leave enough space for someone to get out of their house.

Usually.

This is the second time that this has happened.

The other time it was a van and it was parked so close to the gate of my house that I had to work really hard to make sure that my bike didn’t end up scraping the van.

I was trying to get inside my house and I had to work hard to not damage another vehicle because they didn’t know how to park.

The thing is that people don’t seem to understand how to park. Sure, it’s a skill that you have to learn and make sure you know how to do all the time, but it’s not that hard when you’re dealing with a very gentle slope with no traffic and enough space to get your car parked into a decent spot.

Here’s a good piece of advice for someone who is parking their car. It’s really important that people understand this, as it’s not that hard to follow and will do you a world of good when all is said and done:

When you park your shitty car, make sure that you are not blocking someone’s entrance to the property in which they reside.

If you can follow this advice, then congratulations! You’re not an asshole.

If you can’t follow this, then please hand in your license. You don’t deserve the privilege of driving your car.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 11:37:22

Another slow one.

Oh well.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

