Five-Hundred Word Challenge 255: More Lovely Customer Behaviour

What I really love is that customers seem to want to give me things tow rite about.

Normally I would not have an issue with this. I like to write and I like to  write about things that happen.

I just wish that they’d give me something good to write about more often than they would give me something bad.

I gave my name to a customer in my introduction, as I always do. They asked for clarification. I gave it again. Their tone changed to suspicion. They asked where I was born. After telling them that I was born in Australia, they spoke to me in a manner that strongly indicated that they did not believe me at all. After all, how could someone who doesn’t have what they perceive to be an acceptable name be born in Australia?

I saw where this was going and I was fairly aware of what the outcome was most likely going to be, so, just like in my introduction, I asked them how I could help them, to which they responded with “A bit touchy” in a somewhat smug, condescending manner.

The rest of the call had them sounding as though they’d rather talk to someone else.

My name may not be the most common in the world, but that’s no anyone’s business except for mine and whomever I invite to that conversation.

It’s none of your business where I was born.

My nationality should not matter when I am trying to assist you with your question.

What should matter is whether I am capable or not. Where I was born does not make me any more or less capable of being able to do my job.

What does make me capable is my experience in putting up with stupid questioning from customers who don’t seem to understand that treating someone with suspicion just because they’re too ignorant to realise that someone may have a name that they haven’t heard before is an incredibly bad reflection on them and not the persons that they are speaking to.

To be honest, I don’t get it nearly as badly as some of the other people that I’ve worked with and I have to be thankful for that, but it still doesn’t leave me feeling any less frustrated with having to deal with something so incredibly asinine.

Sometimes I wonder if customers are looking for a reason to just not want to talk to people and will grasp at the smallest thing that they can if possible.

Probably the best thing that this customer could have done is apologise and drop the shitty attitude that they decided was the best thing to have after realising that I wasn’t going to put up with their crap.

It probably was the best thing.

Instead they didn’t because they didn’t think that apologising for being disrespectful was a good thing to do for some reason.

Oh well.

Some people probably don’t want customer service when calling customer service.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 11:33:21

Slower than I hoped, but at least I got to complain.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

