Missing Bus, Waiting People

What am I angry about today?

I don’t think that I’m angry about anything much at the moment.

Wait. There is something that I am angry about.

On Thursday night, whilst on my way home I had to wait for a bus.

This isn’t the thing that I am angry about.

When I got to the bus stop, there was about thirty people waiting for a bus that was late. There could have been more. I’m not sure. It was a really rough estimate.

Suffice it to say, there was a lot of people waiting for a bus that appeared to be late.

I was waiting for a bus that was coming in a few minutes.

A lot of people waiting for a bus is not necessarily something that is unusual. During peak how, this happens quite a lot. Usually there will be multiple buses over a brief period of time to make sure that people can get home as soon as possible. It does get annoying, but it is not in any way unusual.

What is unusual is a whole lot of people waiting for a bus that hasn’t shown up at 8:40 in the evening.

My bus came. It was seven minutes late.

It couldn’t take everyone. There were people there who may have been waiting for a while that then had to wait longer as the bus that they were waiting for never arrived. I heard someone talk about this with someone else.

I was lucky in that I was able to get on the bus, but I think it may have been better if I had waited. I’m not entirely sure.

I’m very much in support of the bus services of Sydney remaining in public hands rather than being given to a private contractor, regardless of the state government of New South Wales exerting a lot of control over how much autonomy the contractors would have.

However, I do think that, despite protests, if bus services are going to randomly disappear (something that was happening well before the announcement to have more bus services privatised), then, despite my issues with the state government looking to dump the problems that the bus services onto someone else rather than work toward resolving them, the current bus network employees are asking for trouble.

There are many things that can affect whether a bus runs or not. Buses not showing up at random times of the days still should not be something that can be considered as something that you can count on happening.

I think it’s a bit of a bad way to treat the customer base.

I wouldn’t say that being a bus driver is the cushiest job in the world. There’s probably a lot of stuff that they have to deal with that makes the job more stressful than it needs to be, and for that I respect them. With that being said, I do think that there is an obligation as a transit employee to make sure that a bus shows up instead of disappearing into thin air for no discernible reason.

Again, I support the idea of keeping the bus routes in public hands, but there needs to be more scrutiny.

I’m pretty sure that I’ve already made this clear, but buses not showing up being a regularity is not acceptable.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

