Lovely Customer Behaviour

Sometimes I cannot believe the gall that customers have, as well as their amazingly selfish belief that the world revolves around them and that if they don’t get what they want, then it’s absolutely okay to get angry at staff for providing customer service.

I cannot believe that there are people out there that think that it is okay to get as angry as possible when someone is asking for information in order to give as accurate an answer as possible.

For the record, getting shitty when I’m asking for information in order for me to help you does not help me help you.

Customers seem to feel far too entitled because many of them seem to think they can get whatever they want at a whim. These customers need to pull their heads out of their asses more often.

There is plenty of bad customer service out there. I don’t deny that. I’ve given plenty of bad customer service in my time of being a customer service representative, as well as plenty of excellent customer service. I don’t think that at any point a customer service representative should think that they’re neither better, nor worse than customers and should aim to give good customer service at all times.

I do know that regardless of the customer service given, that does not justify getting threatened or abused, or having customers get angry at you for no reason because they want you to read their minds somehow so you don’t put them out by daring to ask for information.

How dare we do our job the way we need to do it because that is by far the wrong way to go about doing what you’re asking us to do.

Customers don’t deserve nearly as much as they get. You want good customer service? Stop being an asshole.

It’s really not that hard.

I like my job. I like my job quite a fair bit. However, it makes me miss working in finance, which is something that I never thought I’d think as working in finance was pretty horrible a fair amount of the time.

People get really aggressive and personal about alcohol, either passive or direct, in a way that I never witnessed in finance. Quite frankly it’s fucked up.

In finance people would never get this angry with such frequency. They wouldn’t be nearly anywhere near as abusive or threatening.

In alcohol, people seem to think that they’re above you because you’re providing them a service. Seem to think. If it’s not the case, then there’s some other reason as to why they think it’s okay to treat customer service representatives like crap.

I understand that people might like to have a drink and when something goes wrong with a delivery that sucks. Sometimes you need to vent. It really is understandable.

Customer service representatives are not punching bags. If you think that the best way to deal with something related to alcohol is to get really aggressive toward someone who is trying to help you, regardless of if it’s a general inquiry or an investigation, you might have problems with aggression, or you may have a problem with alcohol.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

