Five-Hundred Word Challenge 226: Writing About Music

Sometimes music can really take you on a journey through sounds and memory, feelings and scenes, and so on and so on.

Music is a wonderful thing. I’ve heard it described as the closest we’ve ever come to describing the indescribable.

I’m not too sure as to how true that statement is, but I can’t deny that I see some credibility in it, as music reaches out and speaks to us in ways that we cannot easily describe some of the time, although I imagine that for a lot of people it is a lot of the time until they find ways to understand the feelings that they feel.

Music can really help set a scene, whether it be in a film or when moving around in some form of transport, or just walking.

Speaking of scenes in a movie, there’s a really bad habit I’ve noticed where it seems that whoever created the score decided that the best idea is to outright tell you how to feel rather than help underscore the scene and let you come to the conclusion of how you’re mrean tot feel yourself. I’m not sure if this is intentional or not, but I would like to see an audience not treated like they’re a bunch of idiots who can’t think for themselves more often than I do as it’s a really bad way to treat both the audience and the musical score.

Music allows you to take form and shape and change, moving along to music in dance as you let the rhythm move through your body and take you on a journey that can be as energetic and intense as it can be slow and relaxed.

Music is a wonderful thing that we have somehow discovered and adapted to our own thing.

There’s plenty that could be described as throwaway. Almost as much as there is that could be described as well-made, timeless (although I do believe that there is less music that is timeless than most would have you believe as plenty of people seem to be stuck in the past, whether they want to admit to that or not), and truly evocative of imagery and feelings that are not easily expressed in a setting that does not feature music.

Music is as much a massive industry as it is an art form and both are as credible as each other. You can find as much pretentious rubbish in music as an art form as you can find excellent quality in music as an industry.

I would like to believe that music is as objective as any other art form. I like to believe that it can be analysed objectively. I think that it is also as subjective as any other art form out there.

Music has an ability to connect to you on a deep level that other things might not reach. It is a form of language that does not always need to be spoken in order to effectively communicate.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:41:10

Faster than I thought.

Not sure what I was aiming for.

Written at UNSW.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Music and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

