Once when I was Cycling Across the Sydney Harbour Bridge

I was going to have a go at pedestrians today, but the thing is I can’t think of much that they do other than walk onto the road without looking at where they’re going most of the time, then seem to express surprise at the idea of there being vehicles on the road when they’re almost taken out by said vehicles.

However, I think that in all fairness, I must have a go at cyclists today because, as a cyclist I think that it is important to be as critical of the cycling community as possible.

This probably won’t be too critical, but with that being said I do have to admit that there’s only one way to find out.

I remember once when I was cycling across the Sydney Harbour Bridge, some great words were spoken to me. I was going at a good speed and had my hands off the handle bars as my balance was quite good. One of the lycra elite decide that, in their infinite wisdom, they would impart some of it onto me as I was merely a lowly peasant that needed to be guided along the path of righteousness.

Thus, as they were passing, the wise, knowledgeable words were passed on to me in a form of kindness and understanding:

“Put your hands on your handlebars dickhead!”

They were as just as they were appropriate and not in any way full of fault. Despite seeming like  was also fine that, in this persons infinite wisdom, they almost caused an accident as they were cycling right into a number of oncoming cyclists. Thankfully they managed to get past me and into the correct side of the cycle path in time, but of course there was nothing wrong with what they did whatsoever. After all, they were a part of the lycra elite, the most infallible of all cyclists.

Who am I to argue about what I could perceive as sheer idiocy ? After all, I am not even worthy of being within the same area of this person who clearly knows better than I, as well as knows more about how to conduct themselves in a good way with a good attitude.

As they past, I think I shrugged. I’m not sure. I didn’t care so I didn’t pay too much attention to my reaction. I was more interested in the fact that I was cruising at a decent speed, not taking over the cycle path and therefore not causing an obstruction that could have lead to a really nasty accident, considering the cyclist who decided to give me the wise words was going much faster than other cyclists on the path.

It’s stuff like this that makes cyclists look like assholes. It ends up spreading to look like an attitude that most cyclists hold when that’s not the case and in turn makes cyclists have to work harder to turn over the perception that we’re a major nuisance in Sydney.

Admittedly, not holding onto handle bars is not the safest thing in the world.
However, I won’t pretend that being an idiot and almost causing an accident is any better.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

