More Cycling-Related Ranting

So earlier today I was writing about stuff. I don’t know. It wasn’t that interesting.

I ended up losing the timer and decided to discard it because I decided that I wanted to write about something else instead.

The thing I want to write about is something that I’ve written about a few times.

Well, I guess now is the time to start flogging a dead horse.

Cycling. I enjoy cycling. I enjoy being a menace to everyone out there, as cyclists are the worst in the world. There is no one as bad as a cyclist because reasons that are unfathomable to the human mind, but apparently they’re horrible people.

Ergo, I am a horrible person. I’m fine with being a horrible person in this regard. I don’t mind being a horrible person by not doing things such as doing a very fast and sudden lane merge over two lanes into one that has someone cycling in and almost causing them to hit your car. I don’t mind the fact that by deciding that it is not a good idea to walk right into the pathway of a cyclist because you want to get into a car, that that makes me a bad human being.

I would go as far to say that I don’t mind the fact that as I don’t stop in the middle of the road for no reason whatsoever, or decided to turn left in a lane that is not a left turn lane despite the fact that the left turn lane is right next to me, holding up not only cyclists but other motorised vehicles, that that makes me the scum of the earth. I don’t mind at all, because I can revel in the fact that I’m not pretending to be an environmentalist who is driving around a car to go to the city when I live right next to it and have no actual need to drive to and from work and decide to anyway because I need to be as much of an asshole as possible.

I’ve written before about the fact that there’s a lot of bad cyclists out there. Well, I think I’ve written about bad cyclists. I’m not sure. I will gladly admit that there’s a lot out there. However, I don’t think that justifies the weird amount of hate that they get in Sydney.

I’ve heard motorists rant about how they pay for the roads by paying registration. I wonder how many of them would think someone is lying to them if they were told that the cost of registration probably does not pay for the roads and that everyone who is paying tax pays for the roads regardless of whether they use them or not.

I think that there would be a lot less traffic congestion if people who didn’t need to drive (we’ll say a 20km trip in either direction as an extreme) instead rode to work. There probably would be a lot less assholes doing things such as deciding on a whim to almost cause an accident on the road by trying to merge into your lane when you’re right next to them.

A lot of people don’t like cyclists and I’m not sure as to why. There are a number that aren’t good. I won’t deny that. Perhaps the issue is that people can’t handle the fact that some people like riding a bike. Perhaps the issue is that it’s acceptable to be an asshole when you’re in a car or crossing a road right into traffic.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

