Five-Hundred Word Challenge 201: On Photography

WEll, it certainly is a fine morning on this very fine morning of mornings!

I was going to write about how I was going to write about something, but that idea fell through.

I was also going to write about how ungrateful some customers seem to be, but I think I’ve already covered that enough times in the past month, so it’s time for a new subject.

I think that today I shall talk about… photography.

So I’ve been doing photography for a number of years. Since being a young teenager, I think. More than ten. Definitely more than ten.

The point is that I’ve been doing photography for a very long time, although it’s only over the last six years that I’ve been doing it with a great deal of frequency.

I’m not too sure as to what it is that attracted me to photography. Maybe it was the camera. Maybe it was the resultant image once a picture is taken. I have no idea whatsoever. The fact is that I was drawn to it in some manner and enjoy it thoroughly I do.

Initially I had an analogue camera that ended up disappearing. My mum got it for me. When I used up the film, it was developed and then the camera seemed to disappear. From there, I’ve used camera attachments for devices as well as phones (which, whilst these days are getting quite good at capturing moments, don’t seem to have nailed the weight and feel that a camera has).

Despite being in the digital age where it’s easy to take a lot of photos in one go and pick the best one, I think it’s important to try and apply analogue methods to photography.

I think it’s still important to try and get the best shot you can in one attempt rather than delete a photo if you don’t think it’s that good and then try again. There’s a real skill in training your eye and the way you angle the camera to capture the best shot that you can.

I also think that it’s still important to be patient when it comes to photography because sometimes you really do need to wait a long time for the “right moment” to capture.

It’s important to carry a camera with you almost all the time as there will be moments where you will see something and be able to catch it.

I think that, at the end of the day, a good chunk of photography comes down to being in the right place at the right time. There’s a lot that you can plan for that will go a long way and being patient really does help, but most of the things that you come across that you’d take a photo of are due to luck. That’s what I think.

Suffice to say, I really enjoy photography. It’s one of the few arts that you can take almost anywhere with you.

I’m sure that It’ll remain enjoyable.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:19:38

A decent speed.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

