Aggressive Behaviour from a Valued Customer

Yesterday was ANZAC day, an important day that I won’t get into the details of as I may have in the past and I don’t feel that anyone needs to hear me go on about how I think certain behaviour on the day is highly disrespectful to those that we are remembering, regardless of your stance on war.

Yesterday I was at work, assisting customers as one does when it comes to customer service.

Actually, I heard that in customer service you’re meant to be paid when you’re hungover and sleeping at your desk, so maybe I was doing the wrong thing.

Anyway…

Aside from the first ninety minutes of the day, it wasn’t too busy which was nice. Most of the calls were really brief and pertaining to whether something was open on ANZAC day. In and out.

There was one particular customer who exemplified everything I just love when it comes to basic respect for a customer service representative.

They were asking about the possibility of delivery for a product I told them that we couldn’t get the item delivered on the day but I would check to see how soon we could get it delivered to them, as it depended on where they lived.

As they wanted their item sooner rather than later, I suggested that it would be quicker for them to go into a store and collect it there.

I’m not sure as to why, but then they said “You can go and get yourself fucked”.

I wasn’t sure that I heard them correctly as the line was muffled, so I asked for clarification, to which they were more than happy to oblige and repeated themselves.

I asked them as to why and they said something along the lines of “Because you can go fuck yourself”.

I should have terminated the call at this point, but instead I told them that I didn’t think that what they said was very appropriate, advised them the cost of delivery for a delivery on the following day, then once more suggested it would be quicker to go into store, then the call ended.

I don’t think that saying what this wonderful person said is appropriate when someone offers a superior solution to your insignificant predicament. I don’t think there’s anything wrong with doing a little legwork if it means you get what you want much faster.

I also don’t think that getting aggressive at someone will make them get you what you want.

I think that this ties into customer entitlement. You’re not entitled to what you want to hear. You’re entitled to a solution that best works for you. If you don’t like it, that’s your problem. You don’t have the right to tell someone that they can go and get themselves fucked.

Don’t be an asshole. Instead, be respectable.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Aggressive Behaviour from a Valued Customer

  1. spanishwoods says:

    Love this:
    Don’t be an asshole. Instead, be respectable.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

