Hungover at Work

I have no sympathy for hungover people.

I think that if you’re going to drink to the point where you spend a good chunk of the following day wrecked, you don’t really deserve sympathy from anyone unless you legitimately didn’t know the risks.

Now, whilst I don’t have sympathy for hungover people, I have neither sympathy nor respect for people who are hungover and then come to work to not do work and get paid for not doing work.

I can’t respect someone who thinks that that is okay to do.
You need money? Okay. Maybe, just maybe you shouldn’t go out and get really wasted and then come into work and not do your job. Maybe in doing that you’ll end up with the money you need to earn.

It’s just an idea that might have tangible results. Just a thought.

Going out and getting wasted is fun, but maybe it shouldn’t come at the expense of others.

I’ve gone to work after sleeping on a beach. This was a little over ten years ago. I was in Manly with a bunch of people that I knew at the time and we ended up sleeping on a beach. We woke up early and walked a long way back to Manly Wharf. I headed into work. I wasn’t hungover but I was quite tired.

After about two hours I went home because I wasn’t able to do my job well with as little sleep as I had.

I’ve seen people come into work with a hangover and still work. To them they have my respect because they’re putting their crap aside and doing what they’re paid to do instead of slacking off work and going to sleep for a while because everything’s just a little too real for them whilst they’re feeling a little bit ill.

Work is not a place to sleep when you feel crap because of your excess. It’s not a place to not do work. Don’t come in if all you’re going to do is try to ride out your hangover. If you’re going to come in hungover, then push through it and do your job. Otherwise, stay home and don’t bother because you don’t have a job to not do your job.

It’s just a thought.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

