Five-Hundred Word Challenge 195: Cloud Story, then Stuff About Clouds

There’s a cloud outside somewhere in the world and I cannot see it for I am currently chained to my desk through the power of my desire to remain employed at my job.

This cloud is being carried somewhere by wind currents where it may end up dissipating by turning into rain or just falling apart, maybe.

I don’t know. I’m inside.

It’s come from somewhere over the ocean and is slowly trying to make its way inland, but it can only go where it is carried for it has no will or mind of its own. Indeed, it is not a living thing,yet it can still be given a personification as then it becomes much easier to comprehend, sometimes.

Its shadow, whilst large, is not all-encompassing and passes over many an area. Open fields, hills, mountains, the suburbs as it slowly continues its journey that it has no control over.

People walking through the Royal Botanic Garden watch as the sunny day suddenly becomes shadowed for a few minutes before becoming sunny once more.

As it passes over the city, most people don’t know as most of the city is near-permanently cast in shadow due to the desire to build taller and taller buildings that do nothing other than create a jagged, almost messy appearance.

Past the suburbs it floats and toward the wilderness it heads where the journey that it is on will finally end.

It takes a long time, but the cloud continues to float there.

However, I cannot see it as I am inside and working instead of being outside and trying to follow a cloud. I could not tell you of its appearance. I can only tell you that it is rather large.

I also can’t tell you how it ends. I can only tell you that it gets to where it was heading.

Clouds help create some really lovely patterns and whilst they can be something concerning to witness, they work well on the canvass that is the sky.

It’s difficult to see the same kinds of lines and shapes in the sky every time there are clouds, although I’m sure that there has been some sort of repetition.

Sometimes seeing clouds move toward you can create a really strong feeling.

Watching clouds in general can create some sort of strong feeling. It requires the right conditions, of course, but it does happen. It probably happens more often than I realise.

I think that clouds are pretty amazing in a lot of ways. The study of them gives us a lot of information and… well… that’s all I have at the moment.

If we didn’t have clouds, the sky would possibly a lot less interesting.

With that being said, whilst they have consumed a fair bit of the sky recently, there are times when they do not make things more interesting to see, but like most things, there are always times when you don’t want to see them.

It depends on your mood, probably.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:59:14

So Is tarted writing this and kind of hit a block somewhere so I decided to just talk about clouds.

That probably didn’t need to be stated.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

