A Far-too-brief Writing on Physical and Office Work

Work. It’s a thing that most of us will have to do at some point in our lives.
Some jobs are hard and some jobs are easy. There are some jobs that some people are better at doing than others and some jobs that people will feel more than others for a number of reasons.

What really grinds my gears is when people suggest that a physical job is harder than an office job or vice versa.

Now I need to state that I’ve come to my view based on what people have told me as well as my own experiences and people won’t necessarily agree with me and that’s fine.

I think that both office and physical work are equally as strenuous and demanding as each other because both have different kinds of jobs in each field that can be seen as easy and difficult as each other.

I don’t think that something that is physically taxing is easier or harder than something that is mentally taxing.

I don’t think that just because you are fatigued in one way after a day at work means that you’re working harder than someone who is fatigued in a way that’s different to the way that you are fatigued because they work a different type of job.

Most days of work that involve being in an office leaves a lot of people feeling mentally exhausted. Personally, I can say that by the time I get home, I usually don’t want to talk much or do much and generally have to force myself into any activity as most of the day I’ve been using my voice to talk to customers all day whilst having to think about what I’m going to do to assist them. It might not be the most physical thing, but as said, it leaves me feeling mentally exhausted.

I’m  sure that there’s plenty of people who come home after physical labour all day and don’t feel like going out and doing stuff and would rather do very little.

Furthermore to that, there’s research that has results suggesting that due to the requirement of sitting down for extended periods in most offices, your health may be affected more adversely overall than when working in a job that requires more physical activity.

As said earlier, I think that both office work and physical work are equally as strenuous demanding as each other and how taxing a job can be comes down to a number of factors more important than the physical or mental requirements of them.

I don’t think suggesting you have a harder job just because you use your brain all day, or because you use your body all day, or a combination of both is an informed thing to say.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

