Five-Hundred Word Challenge 189: I Sat on Someone’s Bag

Anyone who has been reading this long enough knows that I don’t always enjoy the selflessness of commuters, especially those that I have the absolute joy of sharing public transport with when they decide to be as selfless and kind by selflessly making sure that everyone shares space because they decide to take up more of it than usual when they have no need to, for the greater good of course.

On Wednesday when I hopped on the bus that would take me to university, I noticed that most of the seats on the bus had one person on them.
Whilst walking down the aisle, I saw someone who thought that their bag was important enough to be on the seat next to them. I walked past as I was hoping to score a seat of my own.

When it didn’t appear that way, I sat down next to someone who appeared as though they thought that they were too cool for school. Apparently they were too cool for etiquette and in that particular moment so was I.

Now, I’ve gotten angry at people for doing selfish stuff on a bus, such as spreading their legs out as widely as possible as well as putting their bag on the seat because for some reason they think that a bag needs to sit on a seat and can’t for any reason sit on the floor, but I’ve never spoken up about it or done anything, which is probably the better thing to do in one of these situations. It is much better to be polite, or firm and not do anything that could be construed as a form of aggression. However, something in me snapped in this instance. I’m not sure if it was this person’s “too cool for school” look, or their spread legs, or their bag sitting on the seat, but it most definitely had to do with their bag sitting on the seat.

I sat down on their bag and I did not care.

It took a few seconds for the person to notice, but when they did, they tried to pull it out from under me to no avail. They pointed out that I was sitting on their bag, to which I replied by saying “I know”. They told me to get off and I said “no”. They tried to push me off with the only result being that they were unsuccessful in pushing me off the bag, as they only got me to move slightly to the side.

The person told me to get off once more, I told them that saying please would be nice, to which then they said “Could you please get off my bag?”. I complied at that point because, despite how petty and undeserving I was being, I got some etiquette and that is all that I wanted.

I should have challenged him to take off his stupid sunglasses. That would have stopped him from being too cool for school though.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:44:67

I could have written this much faster. Probably has to do with my writing in bed for the first time for a while.

I’m aware that I behaved in a bad way, but I didn’t care.
It’s not hard to sit your bag on the floor, or on your lap.
It’s also not hard to close your damn legs.
There’s people getting on the bus. Don’t be a selfish prick.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

