Five-Hundred Word Challenge 188: Realising

Today I cycled to university for a lecture before I headed to work in my quest to get back to a fitness level that matches my endurance in order to make hiking and camping a much more feasible endeavor than it is at the moment, as well as due to my general bitterness and hatred of the world causing me to become a stubborn iron steed elitist that snubs his nose at anyone who dares use either public transport or a motorised vehicle.

Before cycling, I prepared to  cycle, as one does when they intend to cycle on a bike. I also left home a little bit alter than I hoped I would due to taking a little longer than I had hoped to get everything I wanted to get done done.

So on my bike I was and a smooth ride I had due to the quick servicing that I gave it before leaving home.

I peddled as quickly as I felt I could and did quite well for time. I also felt a lot less puffed than usual which meant I did much better for time than I usually would as I had a bit more energy for most of the journey.

Unintentionally going the wrong way for where I needed to be for the lecture today, I kept on the path and ended up having a nice downhill run for the last lengthy stretch of my journey.

Once I found where I could park my bike as close to where my lecture was as possible, I parked it and made quick steps to the lecture room.

Before stepping in I checked the timetable on the door to make sure I was on time. Then, when I walked in I noticed that the lecturer was a new one and that the lecture room was about as empty as usual which made it easy enough to pick a seat.

After sitting down, I found that I didn’t recognise the lecture slides at first. Then I was wondering why the lecturer was talking about polymers and monosaccharides.

I began to realise that something was wrong and that there was a chance that I was at the incorrect lecture.

I tried to subtly check my timetable as I suspected that there was a chance that the lecture had been moved to and eventually saw that I was actually eighty-five minutes late to my lecture. Thankfully I was in the right lecture room.

So I sat there, trying not to laugh and paid attention to the lecture as much as I could in order to save face. Every now and then the lecturer would briefly look at me in a quizzical manner. I’m fairly certain that he was trying to work out who I was.

When the lecture ended, I left quickly. I’m certain that the lecturer looked at me again and gave a quick smile.

Soon I was back on my bike and heading off to work at a good pace.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:50:45

It was an interesting time, being in that lecture. I learned more about chemistry than I had hoped I would.

The writing of this wasn’t as fast as I thought it would be, but I’m not complaining.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

