A Driver Nearly Took me out Today, so Here’s a Short Tangent

So today is going to be another post about cycling because I had a dearth of desire to write.

Actually, it would be more accurate to say that whilst I had a desire to write, I didn’t feel as though I had anything to write about and didn’t feel like going on another stream-of-consciousness tangent.

However, with that being said, one driver was able to give me all the inspiration that I needed, so to that driver, I say thank you for almost causing an accident.

I was cycling along to work, as one does when they are on a bike and desperately trying to stay on a tight budget, when I had to change lanes to continue my commute at a decent pace. I looked behind me to see if there was enough space and, lo and behold, there was for a very brief time.

The driver that I would have merged in front of decided that the best thing to do would be to speed up whilst I was indicating my intention to merge.

Whilst merging they drove right past me, preventing me from completing my merging unless I decided to change my mind and merge with the side of their car.

From there, they decided that it’s better to follow the law rather than do things that could be considered¬†illegal and followed the speed of the rest of the traffic.

It’s not hard to see why I don’t look at this behaviour with any sort of approval.

Admittedly I could have signaled for longer, but it would have been quite difficult to miss that I had signaled and started merging.

I like cycling quite a lot. Anyone who has tolerated me for a while will know that.
They’ll also know that what absolutely pisses me off is the attitude that some drivers take toward cyclists, especially drivers in Sydney.

To be fair, there’s a number of cyclists in Sydney that have a mediocre attitude and do things such as go on the road and then go at their own pace. It’s not good.

I don’t think that that justifies sub-par behaviour toward cyclists, as well as bad driving practices in general.

The roads are shared and people need to accept that. You don’t get to rule the roads and do whatever you want just because you’re using a vehicle with two or four wheels. You don’t get to risk harm to others just because you think they’re a nuisance or not worthy of your consideration.

Consider what your actions are doing. You’re giving your class of commuter a bad name by behaving the way you do. Stop it.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

