On Talking Over People

Conversation. It’s a powerful tool that allows us to communicate. It usually has an ebb and flow and you can gain a lot from talking with people, depending on what you talk about.

Whilst I don’t like talking too often, I do enjoy the art of conversation. There’s something about it, especially at times when it becomes verbal jousting, that makes it a really satisfying endeavor in which to engage.

With that being said, there’s something in conversation that really frustrates me.
I don’t like it when people talk over and interrupt you when you are conversing.
I think that it is a rather selfish and arrogant thing to do that shows a lack of respect to the other person in the conversation.

It can also indicate that you are trying to dominate a conversation instead of actually listen.

Recently whilst in one of my subjects where  in our tutorials we discuss Australian literature with each other, the conversation that I was having veered a little off track.

I should correct myself there; I was trying to have a conversation and the person that I was speaking to seemed to be trying to have an argument. After a few sentences of me talking I would be interrupted by them talking over me. They became more and more aggressive and angry in their tone as we “spoke”, sounding like they wanted to dominate the whole conversation and not want to hear what I wanted to say. They had an air of self-righteousness based on (I think) what they learned in another class which did nothing but reveal their own arrogance, stubbornness and naïveté.

Talking over people is something that, in very few circumstances, not something that I think can be justified. You can’t have a proper conversation with someone who does this.

Now, to be fair, I can’t say that I haven’t been guilty of doing this myself. That may be why I am critical of the act of doing so. I don’t know.

I know that I don’t like it when it’s done to me, I don’t like it when it’s done to others and I don’t like it when I do it myself.

I’d rather have a conversation with someone rather than have the conversation taken over because someone doesn’t want to give other people the time to talk.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

