Small Events Involving Arms

Recently I’ve hopped back on my bike as I haven’t been doing much cycling over the past few months (no cycling whatsoever, save for once or twice) and whilst I’ve been tiring myself quite a fair bit, I’m enjoying it just as much as I always have.

However, there’s two things that have recently happened that have annoyed me immensely and they both have to do with pedestrians.

I was cycling across Anzac Bridge. In the distance there was some topless buff dude walking along. When he saw me, he stuck his hand out in front of me with his fingers spread out. I’m not sure if he was looking for a high five, but in my experience you don’t generally put your hand out so it’s in the direct path of a cyclist if you want them to high five you, especially if they’re moving at a rather accelerated pace.

The second time  involved going past a bus stop yesterday. As I was approaching, one of the people standing there stuck their hand out right in front of my path, which was quite possibly the smartest thing they could have done in that given moment. Luckily they realised that they should raise it once they noticed that I was approaching and people were moving over to let me through, but had they not, there would have been a small accident.

Normally I wouldn’t complain about something like this, but I don’t understand why people feel the compulsion to do something like either of these when there is a real risk of getting injured. Don’t shove your damn hand directly in front of someone when they’re moving along, especially if they’re going fast over a bridge. To the side is much more efficient.

If you’re at a bus stop, perhaps wait for someone to pass by before you decide that shoving a limb in their view very suddenly is a good idea.

On Tuesday morning I caught a bus to go to my favourite café. The bus was packed when it arrived at my stop. Having to tap off the bus due to our smart card system, I justly decided to do that. There was a person in the doorway and instead of stepping to the side or stepping off the bus to let me through, they decided that the best course of action was to try and walk through my arm.

When that failed, they didn’t apologise. They stepped to the side.

I really don’t understand how people can be so stupid. I understand that sometimes you can be lost in thought and become clueless due to said being lost in thought. It happens to me on a regular basis. The problem is they saw that I was there and after looking around slightly, actually tried to walk through my arm.

I don’t really know what else to say about it, other than that I was surprised that it happened and am not surprised that I didn’t get an apology. My arm is a physical object with a physical presence. It’s not invisible.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

