Five-Hundred Word Challenge 184: Back From the Field Trip

On Sunday afternoon I returned from the field trip that, as it turns out, I didn’t enjoy that much.
There were moments. There were very good moments and parts that were fun, but overall I have a few beefs about how it seemed to be poorly organised (telling us about things that should have been advised of at least a week before the field trip commenced due to the possible dangers of said things, among other issues) as well as what could be deemed as irresponsible behaviour from a senior authority, but that’s not something I’m going to get into because I want to discuss what I did enjoy about the field trip.

I enjoyed the scientific aspect of it. I enjoyed getting off any paths to log data as well as what the region looked like. I enjoyed going into a lake and walking about one hundred metres from the shoreline, then walking back because it was not deep enough to be floating in the water.

I enjoyed taking a lot of photos and being away from the city. I found parts of it quite relaxing.

I enjoyed coming back without any form of illness of bad injury.

I think that sums it up pretty nicely.

There was a fire at the site the class was staying at at one point and, whilst everyone was away from it, I enjoyed taking photos of the fire.

I enjoyed talking with some of my fellow students (as I still can’t relate to most of them) and I enjoyed the food that was provided for us to eat as it was rather simple and straightforward but covered most of what was required in a balanced diet.

I really can’t think of much else.

I liked the air. The air was nice.

I enjoyed seeing a whole bunch of different insects, as well as the end of a goanna.

I really enjoyed the trip back home as it was significantly faster than the trip there due to when the bus left uni, as well as being able to leave the bus back well before reaching uni, therefore allowing me a much more direct route back home.

I managed to learn very little while in the bush, but I managed to do a fair bit of physical activity (which was mostly the parts that included walking off the tracks that were around) and I came back from it mostly feeling tired rather than sore, which I’m quite happy about as something I don’t always feel like feeling is pain, despite the charming allure that it has when it warms my cold and darkened soul.

I made the mistake in not reading the outline of the field trip properly and was left without sleeping gear, but that didn’t bother me much as I still was able to sleep somewhat decently.

So, that pretty much sums up everything. I’m back and aside from a bunch of scratches and a slight bit of pain, I’m completely fine.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:08:28

So I wanted to do a bit of writing to schedule for whilst I was gone.
Obviously it never came to be, but I wonder what I would have come up with.

Anyway, this was slower than I had hoped, but it’s a decent summary if you think not saying much counts as decent when you read a summary.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

