Yet Another Customer Service Rant

Seeing as I recently wrote about bad customers, I thought it only fair that I also write about a poor customer service experience that I was a part of today.

I was in a store buying stuff that initially I wasn’t going to buy, but had use for (as one does sometimes in a store if they’re not purchasing other things, such as things that they were going to buy but had no use for whatsoever).

I went to find the checkout counter and saw that someone was being served at one, so I stood in front of another at the same moment that someone (I’m going to guess it was one of the employees) was walking away.

Whilst standing there waiting for someone to come to the counter so I could be served, the one that was serving someone was doing a really great job of providing service.

Now, I don’t care what you do if it’s quiet, so long as you’re serving customers if that’s what you’re meant to do at that given time. Seemingly flirting back-and-forth (or just having a lengthy conversation about some pointless crap) whilst there are people there waiting is a bad way to go about your job.

I don’t care if you think you’re above doing your job. Serve the customer, then serve the other one. Don’t keep a conversation going that holds other people up because you think that’s the best way to go about things.

After a few minutes of waiting, someone approached the counter where I was waiting and took care of some stuff around it, mostly ignoring that I was there. Eventually either they or another member of the staff finally took notice of me and asked if I had been served. I said I was waiting, they said something, then the person who was too busy in their conversation finally got things moving, then served me and, sounding quite disingenuous, apologised a few times to me whilst they were serving me.

I do not think that this is a good way to go about things.

Sometimes I get to see some bad customer service happening around me whilst I’m at work, which is always fun to witness.

I think that if you think you don’t need to do what you’re paid to do, then you should probably quit. I think that if your attitude is that you’re not there to serve the customers, then go find something else because all you’re doing is pissing people off.

Bad customer service is just as prevalent as bad customers and it really grinds my gears a lot more than I am willing to admit. You can’t expect to do a crappy job and have people want to return to your store. If you really think that that’s how it works, then you need to realise that people will find something better sooner or later.

If you are one of the people who think giving bad service is okay, then please stop.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yet Another Customer Service Rant

  1. Amanda Lyle says:

    You aren’t the only one. I get this all the time. It’s a sign of our times, perhaps? That, or people are just plain rude! đŸ˜¤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think it’s the latter over the former, fortunately. Still get good customer service in plenty of places.

      Oh well. You can only do what you can only do, even if that means calling them out on their crappy behaviour, which I probably should have done, but didn’t do.

      Like

Leave a Reply

