Another Customer Service Rant

I like working in customer service. There are other things I’d rather do for a job, but as far as working as a customer service rep goes, I think it’s something good in which to work.

It’s not the best job, but it’s a good challenge that can really help develop discipline and patience.

However, what I really like about the job is when I get called a piece of shit for doing my job by providing customer service.

The thing that I find interesting about customer service is that many customers don’t want service because it doesn’t fit with what they think they’re entitled to. They want someone to agree with them and give them what they want as that’s much more preferable to getting a solution.

Well, my job (as well as the job of many others) is to provide a solution or an answer and that is not always going to be what  a customer wants. My job isn’t there to kiss a customer’s entitled ass and bow down to them because they can’t pull their head out of the sand and understand that they’re arrogant little pricks.

Again, this doesn’t apply to all customers. I have the joy of speaking to a lot of wonderful people most of the time and it can sometimes be a bit saddening to not be able to give them everything they want because they’re lovely people, but they understand and accept that they won’t get everything, or sometimes anything. They accept it and move on. They don’t resort to being an asshole to someone because the solution to their issue involves them doing a slight bit of legwork to ensure that they are taken care of as completely as a business can take care of them.

I’ve been on both sides plenty of times. I’ve been a bad customer before which is something I work toward not being anymore as it’s really unfair toward whichever person I’m speaking to when I require service. It’s not a representative’s fault if they’ve given me the best possible information (or solution) that they can.

I also have to consider myself lucky because I don’t have to deal with entitled customers face to face. As often as I have to deal with shitty behaviour, I have to be thankful that it’s only over the phone. Anyone in a store is likely to get it a lot worse than me and they really don’t need to deal with that crap.

Yes, there’s plenty of bad customer service out there, but that doesn’t justify being a prick for no reason. Customers who think they can behave in this way need to rethink their attitudes because all they’re doing is shitting on someone else as they think they should get what they want.

Show a bit more respect because a lot of the people who work in customer service want to help. Making our job more stressful doesn’t make us want to help more.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Another Customer Service Rant

  1. Liesbet says:

    That all sounds so very familiar! My husband works in customer support (and everything else) of our small business and it is, indeed, these people who feel completely entitled, don’t want to listen, or think they know everything better about our product than its creator, who drive him (and us) crazy. Plus, when it is your own product, you take everything personal as well. I like your attitude of trying to be a better customer yourself. That is darn hard when you have to deal with representatives who are not helpful and, more importantly, often don’t even know what they are talking about…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

