Five-Hundred Word Challenge 175: Wanting more Rain

It was yesterday that a thick sheet of rain fell upon the city known as Sydney.
Whilst the storm threatened to overstay its welcome by what could be described as a significant amount, unfortunately that was not to be the case as the rain decided that the best thing to do would be to disappear after a paltry ninety minutes of falling hard.

It was probably a little less than that and it mostly faded away rather than disappeared, but the fact remained that it was there, it didn’t stay for a length of time that I hoped it would stay for and then it was gone.

I’m not sure as to why I want the rain to stay for a little longer than less than two hours. Sometimes I find that stormy weather gets a little too excessive in its unrelenting nature, but at this point I wanted it to be much longer than it was.

Perhaps my desire was born out of the hope that it would break the tedium of too many days of temperature varying a little too much for my own taste.

Perhaps I just wanted something a little different.

There’s also the possibility that it would have given me something to write about. A story, maybe.

Well, to be fair, it doesn’t actually prevent me from writing about anything at all, but I think that maybe I would have been able to write something about the rain and a story about journeying through it as it was happening.

Either that I would have gone to sleep for a little while before getting up to go to work.

It’s nice to have a little nap whilst it is raining, although not always.

It’s possible that it has something to do with my attraction to the ocean. I’m not sure as to how that would be the case, but it is always a possibility.

Rain is such a dramatic thing at times. It’s associated with sadness, catharsis, pain… as with so many other things that are out there.

It’s also rather wet at the best of times and if you don’t have much to protect yourself from the onslaught of droplets of water falling upon your being at an exceptionally fast rate, then you are most likely going to get wet yourself unless you’re somehow able to dodge every droplet that falls, in which case I can offer nothing but my admiration for your ability to move so deftly that you can somehow dodge something that should not be possible to dodge.

You could probably also dodge the sweat rolling down your face as well if you were able to move at that speed.

Anyway, the rain wasn’t enough yesterday. Probably the biggest reason that I wanted the rain to last for a longer period than I did is also the silliest one:

If it had rained for longer, it’s possible that it would’ve kept going today and I wouldn’t have had to water my plants.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:18:87

Decent speed for this, considering I’m writing in a different location than usual.

Written in Redfern.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

