Five-Hundred Word Challenge 174: Something that’s Probably Vaguely Poetic

Well, it’s a hot day, I’m in my room sweating like crazy and all I can think of is how I should be outside, heading somewhere with my camera and taking photos.

Well, I’m not actually thinking about that. I’m actually thinking about what I’m writing about and wanting to know where it will carry me. I do doubt that it will carry me home as I’m already there.

Beyond my window is an inescapable expanse with a horizon that spans ages beyond what I could conceivably comprehend, for I can only comprehend less than I could ever hope to know.

All I can do is stare out as it slowly reaches toward me, dragging me in to feel all that it has to offer, having me float throughout whilst I experience a feeling of being overwhelmed as all realisations come flying toward me and my mind is peeled back to prevent any of the guard mechanisms that I would have set up from stopping anything from making a full penetration.

As I would experience this, suddenly I would find myself under the dry sun in an expanse somewhere in Australia. There would be no one around and the sky would see heaving clouds approaching slowly.

I would be digging into the dirt as the sun beats down on me, allowing sweat to shower my arms and face, dripping into where I’m digging. I wouldn’t be sure as to what I’d be digging for, but I do know that I would have to finish before the clouds reached me and unleashed the rains that the land underneath needed to keep on surviving, allowing the expanse, as dry and thirsty as it was to bloom once more with various grasses and wild flowers, turning the expanse into a vision of beauty and wonderment.

Eventually I’d finish digging only to find myself falling away from the ditch and into the sky as the rain would fall.

Beyond the clouds would my ascent slow down and I would be there, being dragged along to somewhere else at a gradually accelerating pace. The clouds below would become some sort of blur and various oranges and reds would pierce the atmosphere, yet where I would be going would never draw closer and I would be forced to only be a spectator to what I am experiencing once more. There would be no stopping until it was time and that time is not what I would know.

Suddenly I would find myself in my room as though nothing had actually happened, for the fact is that nothing actually did happen. It would feel as though I did. It would feel as though all that had just been witnessed was as real as my thoughts, but that would be because it was all in my thoughts and had never left them.

Instead, after all of that I would go back to writing, sweating and waiting for the dry heat to pass before I head out for photography.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 08:39:04

Faster than I had hoped. Hooray and whatnot.

Back to sweating.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

