Ikea Story

Near the start of January, a day after I was thoroughly sunburned (it was mostly the face), I went into Ikea. I was there to buy a new bandblad. Instead, I walked out with an omelett, a rölleka, a rosenkRAGE and some other miscellany.

I don’t know if it was the sunburn or my burning distaste for being in Ikea, but I’ve noticed that it’s a weird place.

For instance, there’s multiple copies of a book on each shelf with the books being written in Swedish (which is nice from an authentic viewpoint but doesn’t seem to make much sense from a display viewpoint [with that being said, I don’t know much about how display works, so it probably doesn’t make much sense to only a few other people outside of myself]).

There’s also shelves full of blank c.d. cases which doesn’t match with the books (at least one of the books is not full of blank pages).

There’s also photos of people that can come off as a bit unsettling if you are inclined to feel that the display choices are poor.

Anyway, I wandered around the weirdness of Ikea, finding myself caught in their trap whilst I was looking for a replacement bandblad.

I think that Ikea is cleverly designed as having a massive display floor sectioned into small segments that, unless you’re familiar with the layout or have managed to skip the floor entirely, you’ll have to walk through which exposes you to more stuff than you might’ve been considering, increasing the chance that you’ll walk out spending more money than what you had initially planned.

It took me a while to get out of there.
I did see some interesting things and I took some photos (sadly not with my camera), but overall I didn’t find being there any more enjoyable than it had been in the past.

Also, there was a fair bit of time spent trying to locate what I was after. I found it to be a more difficult procedure than it should have been due to item placement, although this is most likely due to being sunburned as it somehow managed to make everything feel a bit more difficult.

It was good that I saw a pile of omeletts as my old omelett needed to be replaced. Whilst I was not able to obtain a new bandblad, the rölleka and rosenkRAGE have both turned out to be satisfactory replacements.

I also obtained some new bed sheets whilst I was there and that was something that I feel I needed.

To be honest, I thought that this was going to turn out to be a bit more of a story, but there’s not much to say outside of “I wandered around a bit more aimlessly than I expected to and bought some stuff”, so I’ll let the photos I took take over.

However, before that, I feel the need to mention that there’s a video on the internet of me saying farewell to the old omelett. It may be worth watching, but most likely that isn’t the case.

Anyway, here are the photos.

20170105_101053

Who is this?

20170105_101622

Why blank c.d. cases?

20170105_101712

The horses are cool.

20170105_101751

Many of the same book and none for purchase.

20170105_102029

Små Blå Män sounds phonetically nice.

20170105_102304

Or you could prepare in advance and get a bigger bookshelf.

20170105_102351

Actually a cylinder.

20170105_102410

Lies.

20170105_103037

Actually a rört.

20170105_103357

I thought that this moose picture and plant were cool.

20170105_103542

Toilet duck.

20170105_103758

Puffin bin.

20170105_104908

Piss off Sergio.

20170105_105815

“Off-white”.

20170105_110907

These are kind of cute.

20170105_110939

Help me I am in Hell.


About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ikea Story

  1. Amanda Lyle says:

    Oh I do love a trip to Ikea, I must say! I’m just sorry you don’t share my enthusiasm! Although, deep down, I feel like you may have loved it… just a little bit! I mean, you came out with stuff that you didn’t even need! How do you explain that? 😜

    And all those pictures have just shown me that I NEED to go back there and purchase… EVERYTHING!!! 😬

    Liked by 1 person

  2. bymarion says:

    Haha, looks familiar !

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

