Star Wars: The Force Awakens Review

There’s spoilers in this, so if you haven’t seen the film and don’t want it spoiled, don’t read.

I enjoyed the film.

However, I found it to be average at best.

This might have something to do with my desire to not spend extended periods of my time being nostalgic for the past, which is how the film mostly felt.

Han Solo dies.

The whole planet being a base with a super weapon built directly into it is stupid.

I know that one is required to stretch the imagination every now and then, but I can’t stress the stupidity of its existence.
It uses the power of the sun by literally harvesting it and has its core exposed, yet somehow nothing on the planet itself is getting screwed up by this.

COME ON!

I think that The Force Awakens could have been improved with (at most) an additional forty-five minutes. As it stood, it felt rushed and patchy in parts.

The dialogue is serviceable for the most part and the actors do a decent job.
The soundtrack is appropriate.

I need to interrupt for a moment and state that I wrote most of this in December 2015. I can’t remember why I stopped, but since seeing Rogue One I felt that it was appropriate to finish the review as, whilst I didn’t find it to be anywhere near as good as people made it out to be, The Force Awakens is a better film.

It’s much more together than Rogue One. The characters are better developed and less forced (albeit only by a small amount), the plot flows much better and whilst there are some incredibly stupid moments, there are less stupid decisions made.

Despite feeling rushed, The Force Awakens has a smoother flow than Rogue One.
Whilst there are a few head-scratching moments, it ebbs and flows quite well in comparison.

It’s also significantly more memorable. I walked out of Rogue One wondering if I had somehow missed any scenes. At this point I’m finding myself having to think to remember most of what happened. I haven’t seen The Force Awakens since December 2015, but I can still remember most of it with little difficulty.

It does lean a little too much on playing it safe instead of being more of its own thing. However, despite finding it to be average at best, I also found it to be a fun space adventure film that worked as a set-up for two more films that hopefully branch out and take more risks with the franchise.

However, I hope that Disney cancels their ongoing plans and ends the films with this last trilogy.

The Force Awakens is worth seeing as a bit of entertainment, but don’t go in expecting more and don’t bow down to any pandering. Too many people have.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

