Beecroft Story

Until recently, I had forgotten that this had happened. I think that it’s worth telling, so here’s a story for you all:

At the end of 2006, I went to visit some of my family that lives in Melbourne.

I went by train and came back via the same method.

I came back overnight as… I can’t remember why. I probably thought that it would be a good idea.

Whilst I had two seats to myself for part of the trip, eventually someone who had booked the seat next to me came on, put the arm rest up, took over most of the space and fell asleep.

I did not get much sleep on that trip.

Eventually the train pulled into Sydney, after which I made my way home.

Once there, I tried to get some sleep. I found it very difficult and eventually gave up on the idea.

I had my work Christmas party to attend that evening. My plan was to meet someone after they finished working their shift for the day, head back to theirs for a bit, then both of us head to where the Christmas party was being held.

I waited outside of work for a while, then met my friend, then some events happened, then we were at the location of where we were meant to be.

It was on a boat that was going to go around the harbour for a number of hours. We hopped on. There was no escape.

It wasn’t too bad, but I think that after a while I was beginning to feel fatigue catching up with me.

I think. I could be wrong.

From what I can remember, it was a fun party. There was food. There was drinking. There was other stuff.

So anyway, eventually the torture ended and we were all allowed to get off the boat. It was late, so I headed home.

I hopped on the train to take me to Burwood (as I was living near there at the time).
I closed my eyes briefly whilst the train was somewhere around Ashfield or Croydon.
As soon as I opened them I saw that the train had stopped at Burwood so I ran off the train as quickly as I could.

I was not at Burwood.

I was at Beecroft Station.

It was dark and no one was around. I think I waited for a few minutes for another train, then found out that I had just gotten off the last train of the night for that line.

Seeing that this was the case, I wandered around the area just outside of the station for a little while, trying to find some way to get back to home. I remember feeling like I was going to be stuck there for a while.

There was a bakery that had people getting their goods ready so I asked them for help. They pointed me in the direction of the main road. I headed up there and managed to catch a night ride bus.

That’s roughly the order in which things happened. I was in Beecroft for at least an hour.

Anyway, despite the trip via public transport usually taking much longer, it got me close to home in about twenty minutes.

It was an experience.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

