Five-Hundred Word Challenge 161: Not Getting a Joke

This morning I’m going to write about something that happened to happen this morning, as it is a recent event that I can write about with some sense of clarity and that makes me happy, so that is what this morning I will write about this morning during the morning that is occurring now.

Anyway…

So during this morning I went and take care of something that I needed to to make sure that I could still do my job past February. After taking care of this, I wanted to head to my regular café, but I did not have enough time, so I went to a café near work.

I saw that they had some items on their menu prefaced with “Ouroboros”, so I asked them if one of the items they had was eating itself.

They didn’t get my joke, so I gave a very brief explanation as to what Ouroboros was.

They seemed to get it after that. I’m not sure as I stopped paying attention to what they were saying.

IF YOU HAVE THINGS ON YOUR MENU PREFACED WITH A NAME OF SOMETHING AND NOT KNOW WHAT IT’S REFERENCING, THEN WHY THE EXPLETIVE ARE YOU USING THE NAME? WHY? WHY?!

And so on.

What really grinds my gears is that it seems that people just want to use names and words because they think that said names and words are cool and don’t want to have any form of regard for what they mean.

I’m fully aware of language drift and, whilst sometimes I do take umbrage with it, I accept it as things change and it’s not necessarily something that should always be fought against.

With that being said, I don’t think that justifies being an idiot just because you can bury your head in the sand willfully and ignore as much as you can that may point to your lack of understanding of how things work because you don’t want to be challenged in any way as your reality will suddenly shatter and explode into a million pieces, forcing you to re-evaluate your life and then go live the simple life in order to derive some sort of happiness from menial tasks as it will still be a fulfilling life of some form..

Perhaps I’m being a bit harsh. Perhaps it’s actually rather unfair to be so harsh about someone not getting what should be seen as a really obvious remark that is silly whilst also being slightly humorous (possibly).

Perhaps I do not care because HE SHOULD HAVE KNOWN AND I DON’T CARE IF IT WAS POSSIBLE THAT I WAS JUST CATCHING HIM OFF-GUARD UNINTENTIONALLY, FOR I WILL REFUSE TO ACKNOWLEDGE THAT THERE ARE MANY POSSIBILITIES AS TO WHY THE PERSON WHO SERVED ME DID NOT GET MY SILLY JOKE.

Now, if you will all excuse me, I need to go bury my head in the sand for a while so that I can avoid anything that may challenge the view I have.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 08:32:75

Quick review: The food sucked.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Five-Hundred Word Challenge 161: Not Getting a Joke

Leave a Reply

