Five-Hundred Word Challenge 159: Group Work Vexes Me

I’m pretty sure I’ve written about this before, but it’s something that I’m going to write about again as I feel like having a bit of a pointless whinge, so that is what I’m going to now engage in doing.

Group work.

I do not enjoy group work.
Perhaps it has something to do with my being older than the majority of the students not only in my group, but also in my class.

Actually, that’s most likely the entire reason as to why.
I’ve been working in teams for over a decade. I know how to work with other people. I know how a good team can function. University does not seem to give an idea of what team work is like because (strictly speaking from my own experience), it’s really basic and only has a bearing on grading that may actually be irrelevant.

Of course, I do have to admit that there is a possibility that group work changes the farther into studies I go, which means that perhaps some of the students will get the idea that they need to participate as part of the team in order for the team to function, but at this current junction in time, I have fairly strong doubts that this will be the case and during my studies I will remain stuck in a position where I’m putting up with a bunch of idiots who don’t understand that maybe the person with the most experience when it comes to working in proper team situations should be the one giving the directions that should be followed, as well as the one that should be allowed to govern the team.

I won’t deny that sometimes someone with a lack of experience in team situations can be pretty insightful. However, that doesn’t change the experience that I’ve had so far; the experience of being in groups of people that don’t seem to grasp the concept of what working in a team is and then don’t seem to bother to actually help with the team work, causing the team to suffer because their being lazy puts greater pressure on everyone else.

You have commitments outside of university. I understand that. Pull your finger out of your ass and start actually contributing or get out of the course. I don’t care if you “can’t” find the time to go out of your way to do something that will help in the long run. You’re doing a subject and you’re too far in to back out without some sort of academic penalty, so start pulling your weight and help out instead of being lazy because you’re not interested.

The course may strongly affect you in some way and you’re part of a group, so you are now obligated to make sure that you don’t cause everyone else to suffer some sort of academic markdown.

You’re there to learn. You’re not there to waste everyone’s time because you want to throw everything into the “too hard” basket.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:31:10

Slower than I thought I was going, but I’m not to fussed.
Please imagine that I’m shouting the following at the heavens whilst experiencing some sort of anguished torment.

GROUP WORK!

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

