Housing Development

Here is a shot of one of the ugliest housing developments I’ve ever seen.
I like the angle and how this building is captured in the photo, but this is one of many apartments in a small area that were built with no regard for the (partial) aesthetic, feel or history of Glebe.

That’s what I really love about gentrification; people set stuff up because they like the feel and history of an area and decide that the best way to become part of the area is to make sure they’re working against it any way they can.

Admittedly, gentrification isn’t inherently bad. Places do eventually change.
The problem I have is that in Sydney, not enough people care enough about integrating the history of an area in with development.
They’d rather do things that remove the history almost entirely.

Oh well.

I think this is a nice photo, regardless of my feelings on what it can represent.

Anyway, I hope you enjoy.

img_2414a

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Housing Development

  1. lulu says:

    Sydney is not the only place where history is not integrated into new development. Houston gives testimony to that.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

