Five-Hundred Word Challenge 153: I won’t Write About a Cyclist

So I was going to write about how there was some guy who managed to annoy me because he wouldn’t move out of the way because he was too busy listening to his music and blocking the pathway to notice that I was trying to get his attention so he would move his bike slightly so I could ride past him, requiring me to tap him after speaking loudly to try and get his attention.

I will not write about how much it annoyed me and reminded me that I don’t like some cyclists as they can be just as frustrating as public transport commuters.

I won’t write about how this reminded me of how much it annoys me to see people cycling on the road at a casual pace during traffic, slowing everyone down because you’re too lazy to go at a speed that could be considered somewhat tolerable and think that your comfort is more important than making sure you don’t hold up other people.

If you are a cyclist and you’re on the road and you either have no intention of going as fast as possible when there’s a fair bit of traffic around, or unable to, you should stay away from busy roads until you’re able to go at a speed that could be seen as acceptable.

I won’t write about those. I won’t write about how, as a cyclist, I find a lot of other cyclists frustrating to have to deal with and find myself understanding why many motorists get annoyed with them.

I won’t write about any of that because it’s something that’s probably been written about a lot more than I can even care to try and imagine.

I don’t want to talk about how someone on his bike, listening to music so loud that they don’t notice that someone is trying to get their attention to get around them thought it was completely okay to block off a shared path whilst they waited for a crossing light to change because they didn’t see any reason why they should move their bike a few feet forward so that not only could I get around them, but other cyclists would also have a clear path to continue moving, should any more show up in the time that said person was there busy being a nuisance.

I’m fully aware that I’m probably misreading the actions (or lack thereof) of a singular person that I had an interaction with that did not last very long (it was most likely under a minute).

However, I think that it doesn’t take that long to see if you’re doing something that may inhibit others and work to rectify that, no matter how little or great an amount of effort you need to put into said task that would allow you to be a little bit nicer to the people who may or may not be around you, whether they appreciate it or not.

I won’t write about that tonight.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:30:29
Urgh.

To be fair, I’m not as annoyed as I’m implying.
To also be fair, I could have also done a better job writing.

Well, bed time.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

