Five-Hundred Word Challenge 151: Get off the Seat

Today I had an exam and whilst I could probably write something resembling something being interesting if I used that as my basis for whatever comes out of my hands today, instead I’m going to write about something that annoys me greatly.

It’s probably something that I’ve written about before, but I’m going to write about it, regardless of if I have or haven’t, as it’s incredibly insignificant and irritating at the same time.

People on the bus, as well as people on the train both annoy me quit a lot.

There’s one thing that they have in common that really grinds my gears.

Well, there’s probably a lot of things that they both have in common that really grinds my gears, but right now I’m only going to talk about one of those things as it’s something that is, to me, mindbogglingly selfish.

Also, I feel like ranting pointlessly.

You get on a bus or a train, you sit down, then someone sits down next to you.
You get to where you need to get off, so the person, seeing that you need to get up, decides that the best course of action to take is to try and tuck their legs in, congratulating themselves on their ingenuity in a situation as trying as the one that they’ve just had be a part of.

This pisses me off.
Why do this?
Why?

Why not get up and let someone out instead of having them have to squeeze past you because you’re too much of a selfish asshole to actually move?

I know that this is not always the case.
There are a times when getting up might not be possible for some reason.
These seem to be few and far between.

I was on the bus today and I had this happen when I needed to get off.

There was plenty of space for the person to get up and let me pass through, but instead of doing so, they tucked their legs in and waited for me to pass.

Noticing that I was still waiting for them to move off the seat and making my getting off the bus a little bit easier, they then turned on the seat so that their legs were facing into the walkway of the bus.

Then noticing that I was waiting for them to get off the seat, they decided to get up and move to another one.

It’s some sort of solution to a really basic problem.
However, it’s a problem that shouldn’t have existed in the first place.

It’s really not that hard to get up and move out of the way to allow someone to get off with a little bit more convenience than usual.

It’s really not that hard to not be selfish and allow someone to move past you.

It’s hard to think that your ability to sit for a few extra seconds is significantly more important than someone’s ability to get off at their bus stop.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:08:77

Slower than I hoped and probably had a bit too much repetition.

Oh well.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

