One Thousand Word Challenge 13: End of a Field Trip

Once the Jenolan Caves were reached, we all hopped off the buses and went to grab something to eat.

We were running a fair bit behind in time, so we didn’t have much time and some of the activities had to be cancelled, but eat we still did, as food was available and it would be a while before we’d be getting back to UNSW.

My food was alright, although part of it was a massive rip-off.

So, with my meal, I asked for a large chips. I received what appeared to be a large chip cup (I don’t know what their name is, so that will have to suffice) with only a third of the capacity full.

For a size reference, the cup was about the size of a large chips container from KFC.

They took up the majority of the cost of the meal.

I know this is really a minor thing, but I’m not always in the mood to have money go down the sink for something inferior.

Oh well.

Anyway, after eating, the group I was with (and myself) headed to a cave near the Six Foot Track as that was where all the students had to meet for a talk.

Along the way I stopped to get a photo of an arch. I fell over as well.

Interesting!

Anyway, the talk was from one of the remaining academics and it was, but far, the most interesting talk of the whole trip.

What I really liked is that you could tell that they were interested, but they were talking in a way that expressed it clearly and didn’t block out the students.
This was (and still is) quite important to me, as during the trip, any time any of the other academics who were there to talk talked, it did not hold interest or desire to listen.

They were clearly interested but they could only express their own interest. There was what felt like a disconnect between their enthusiasm for the subject and instilling that into the students.

It seemed more as though they didn’t care so much for what we needed to get out of what they were saying.

I could be completely wrong in that regard and I’m really happy to admit that if that is indeed the case.

However, right now, I can only comment on what I experienced and felt, and I know that, from speaking with other students, I was not the only one who felt this way.

The last academic to talk was easily the best. I got a lot more out of them than the others and it made me think more about the caves than I usually would.

Admittedly, it’s not much, but it’s still a lot more than what I’d usually think about them and now I have more of an interest in checking them out in my own time.

There was another academic there, whom I thought was going to talk. However, they didn’t.

Anyway, after taking a photo of the whole class, we had to head back to the buses so we could head back to UNSW.

It was a bit of a relief to be making our way back as, due to running behind, it was going to make it more difficult to get home.

The buses made their way as quickly as they could, and in doing so, managed to get us back to UNSW a bit earlier than expected.

It was dark when we got back, but it wasn’t too late in the evening.

As soon as they could, most of the students scattered like seeds in the wind, probably feeling tired and just wanting to get home to be in a more comfortable position.

I had a quick chat with the remaining academics before heading off to catch a bus with two of the other students.

During the trip to the city, we talked about what happened during the trip, about the positives of the last talk of the trip, as well as a whole bunch of stupid things (as people do on the odd occasion).

One of them and myself hopped off at one stop, and then after a few minutes, I went in a separate direction.

I slowly made my way to catch a bus to get me home, kind of feeling alright about being back in Sydney, but at the same time, feeling as though it was a little bit different from usual.

I was feeling tired and wanting to rest, but also knowing that I had a fair bit of work to do in the coming days before I could say that it was definitely time to rest (although, procrastination has played a hand in making sure that I don’t get as much done as I’d hoped).

I also wanted to get my thermal leggings off as my legs were starting to get too warm and it was not advisable to strip down on the footpath, lest I end up with a situation that I did not feel like explaining on my hands.

When I think of the field trip, I think about how much of it was driving compared to ho w much of it was learning.

It’s not necessarily a bad thing as it could not be helped.

For me, it was more of an excuse to get away from the city for a night and hopefully see some places that I had not seen before.

In that regard, it was quite a successful experience.

I can’t deny that I learned some things that I was not aware of before the field trip.

I also can’t deny that much of it could have been given out in a much better manner.

Still, overall, it was something that I feel I would be interested in doing again, although perhaps not for a few months at the least, as there’s many other things I want to do before I consider another field trip as a mandatory possibility.

The time it took to write one thousand words: 19:32:33

Well, now that I’ve finished writing about this amazing chapter of my life, I can get back to writing about other things.

Hooray.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

