Five-Hundred Word Challenge 143: Toilet Door Knockers

There is one thing that annoys me immensely.

Well, that’s not quite true, but it is something that I find odd, and annoying, although not to a level that could be described as immense.

Public toilets. They’re there. They’re for public use. Usually they get used for the purposes they are designed for, which is use by the public when a toilet is not near.

They have locks and sinks.

Anyway…

What grinds my gears is that, when you are in one of the toilet cubicles with the door being locked with obvious indicators, and someone will come up to the door and either knock on it, or try to push it open.

It’s locked. Why do you think you’re going to be able to get in?

Do you think that the door will suddenly and mysteriously unlock, then open, suddenly revealing the porcelain throne that you so desperately crave, sitting in an open field full of life and wonder, leading you to hop and skip to it, slowly making your way until you reach said porcelain throne?

IS THAT WHAT YOU THINK?!

This has happened to me a number of times (I do have to admit that I have done it a few times myself), the most recent being yesterday.

I was on the toilet in a shopping centre and I heard someone say something. I wasn’t sure what they said as I wasn’t paying attention and they weren’t speaking clearly.

About one second later, they knocked on the cubicle door and then said something that sounded like it was along the lines of “is someone in there?”.

I responded with “yeah”, because I didn’t think of responding with something better, such as “no”, or “can’t you see that the door is locked?”

The door is locked. There might be a chance that you’re not getting in.

There could also be a chance that someone might burst through from behind the door with some sort of action kick and then take you out with said action kick, leaving you injured and defenseless.

Not only does it annoy me as, when there is a clear indicator that a door is locked and someone tries to get in anyway, but also due to the lack of patience it seems to express.

Someone might still be in the middle of doing their business. I understand that if someone is trying to get into the cubicle, they might need to go quite badly.

However, that isn’t going to make someone shit and clean themselves faster. It might make them take longer, but it won’t necessarily make them move at a speed that is acceptable just because you don’t have the ability to be patient, or the ability to go to one of the other public toilets close by.

Well, that’s my pointless rant done for the day.

Not much else to say about the subject, if anything, so I guess I’ll not go find a toilet that will summon many annoying door knockers.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 12:03:12

Slow.

Oh well.

Written at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

