Five-Hundred Word Challenge 141: on Being Single (Kind of)

Well, I really need to hurry as I set a post to be published at a future time a bit earlier in the day and now it’s not long before that future time arrives.

Due to my wanting to make this blog based more around writing than it is photography (as it once was), I don’t have much time left to write.

Of course, in the interest of trying to get this done, I hit my knee on my table in an impressive display of dashing grace, which is always a good way to start something.

Anyway…

So, it’s getting late in the night, it’s a bit cold, and I find myself feeling a bit lonely, as is the joy of being single.

I’ve quite enjoyed being single. Still am. It’s not so much the “I can do so much more” crap that I could go on about, because, whilst I am doing more, that has nothing to do with the part of being single, as being in a relationship did not prevent me from doing what I’m doing now.

It’s that, sometimes I find myself missing having someone around, but only sometimes.

It can be nice to wake up next to someone on occasion, as it can be nice to go somewhere and see something amazing and wish you had someone there with you when you don’t.

It can also be nice to have someone there who, despite flaws and occasional arguments, can get right in you and see you at your most vulnerable and still be fine with you being who you are.

Sometimes I get a bit soppy and romantic about things, but I don’t see a problem with that.
I need to stress that I’m not complaining about being single. It’s been a while since a relationship last graced my doorstep and, to be honest, with that I’m fine

After everything that happened and my lack of success in entering another one (not that I was necessarily actively pursing another relationship), I decided to give up on the whole thing and just do what I do, mostly because I’ve other things to worry about and, whilst I have fancied a number of people, I’ve worked more on the friendships I have.

I don’t get sad and downbeat by my situation (well, sometimes I do, but it’s rare), but I do sometimes find myself missing having someone around, because, whilst I’ve all my friends in my life (and they are good friends), sometimes it does feel like it gets hard not having someone closer to me.

But only sometimes.

Most of the time, I don’t find myself caring about whether there is someone around and I feel quite content with that. There’s something I find enjoyable about being single, but I’m not sure what it is.

If a relationship did come along, I don’t think I’d say no. However, for now, where I am in life when it comes to that sort of thing suits me fine.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 08:42:90

Decent speed.

This is probably the least uncomfortable thing I’ve written about in a long time, and it’s not even that uncomfortable.

What have I become?

Maybe that means I’m feeling fine, or something.

I should probably point out that it took me a while to feel comfortable with being single and it, just like being in a relationship, can have some pros as big as it’s cons, so yeah.

<_<

>_>

Written at my (new) desk at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

