One Thousand Word Challenge 10: A Lengthy Post About Cycling

What a good day that today happens to be!

It certainly is a nice one.

Well, now that I’ve got the small talk out of the way, it’s time to get serious about something that I cannot quite put my finger on, but that is the way of these things sometimes.

the joy of cycling is one that I’ve discussed before, so I feel the need to discuss it again because I can and that is something that I like to do (pointless lengthening of sentences aside, cycling is an enjoyable activity of some sort of menace, but that’s another story for another time, maybe).

You get on your bike and you just go. You  go down a long hill and feel the air on your face as you glide down, down, and further down until you reach the base, of which then you begin to push your way up to a higher point, for you do not have enough speed or acceleration to get the whole way up what is ahead of you.

You  push hard and get to the top, then make your way a bit further along a somewhat flat surface before getting to a bridge.

You cross it, then go a bit further until you reach an area that can only be described as looking scenic and beautiful.

There’s trees as you’re in a large, spacious park area, so you slow down a bit and relax, enjoy the view around you and listen to the sounds of people having fun in your immediate vicinity whilst trying not to take out any kids who are you’re sharing the pathway with, as that would not end well for you and the last thing you want to do is explain to someone’s parents why the kid was horribly injured because you weren’t paying attention to what you were doing.

Once you’re on a wider path, you speed up a bit more as it’s a bit safer to do so.

You eventually hit road and pedal hard because you don’t want to hold up traffic in any manner, as the last thing you want to do is be an asshole who thinks that, just because you’ve got road rights, doesn’t mean you can go as slow as you want and hold up the cars that can’t get around you because you think that you have a right to do that.

There’ s a bit of travel along the road, so you do have to push a bit harder than you normally would, but that’s okay as you don’t mind too much.

Eventually you reach your destination, a bit sweaty and perhaps a bit tired, but you also may feel good as you were able to get there easily enough without dealing with the tyranny of public transport.

Well, sometimes public transport is much more useful when it comes to getting somewhere because cycling is not always the best option, but the more you cycle, the less you rely on public transport.

It’s safe to say that I enjoy cycling quite a lot. There’s a certain kind of grace that you get when you’re moving along on a bike.

Well, sometimes there’s a certain kind of grace. More often than not you’re probably as graceful as an oddly shaped object made of garbage rolling awkwardly down a gentle incline.

Probably.

Aside from the grace, there’s a feeling of freedom that you get from it that being in a car or walking around does not provide. they have their own types of feelings of freedom that they provide and that’s fine as they shouldn’t be the same as each other, or cycling. There should probably be a balance truck between all three that you can get, but that’s not something I’m going to try and bother to get into right now as that’s not what I’m attempting to write about.

The feeling of freedom that cycling provides is, in my opinion, a wonderful one. You get to cruise along on what is usually two wheels and really experience some stunning views with a little bit more ease than if you were driving in a car, although at the same time, it can be just as difficult (probably more difficult) as it’s a lot easier to take your eyes off the road due to not being in a huge chunk of metal going at a rather fast speed.

For me, at least, there’s a greater feeling of being connected to your movement as you’re putting in a lot more work. Cycling long distances requires a fair bit of endurance because you’re most likely going to work a lot harder than if you were driving (unless you were driving a significantly long distance because you’re less likely to take breaks and can generally bounce back a lot easier from a long drive [obviously this depends on the length of the drive]).

For me, it is frequently better to cycle to places than it is to rely on public transport. I’ll usually have access to a shower near where I’m going, which is a significant benefit to getting anywhere. I don’t have to do too much travelling to get to places as well (usually the farthest I’d have to cycle is around thirteen kilometres).

I probably should have put that before instead of now, but I can only write as I think when I’m working within a time constraint.

I quite like my bike, but soon I will have to replace it. It’s far heavier than what I want and whilst I am fairly used to the weight, there is a strong desire to get something that isn’t going to be as much of a push to cycle around. It’s great on the downhills and not so enjoyable on the up.

Still, I’d use it on occasion as it’s quite solid and still works as a bike and, ultimately, if it gets the job done, it gets the job done.

I love cycling. It’s fun.

The time it took to write one thousand words: 18:27:83

Decent speed.

This probably would have been better had I not repeated myself, but sometimes that’s the way things go.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

