Importance of Handshakes

Handshakes are important.

Sure, some people do not put much stock in them, but a hand shake can say a lot about someone’s character, such as whether they’re someone who can be respected and will respect back, or if they’re an insecure, filthy prick of a person who only holds interest of the self in high esteem and wrongfully looks upon people as though they are beneath a said person, thinking that they are entitled to their lofty view of themselves for they inherited greatness rather than worked hard to obtain it.

Suffice to say, whilst I probably shouldn’t, I do put a fair bit of importance into a good handshake.

I won’t go into the details of what makes a good handshake right now as there’s probably more than enough information out there about how one should be done which might have the unfortunate side effect of allowing people who are good at being misleading learning how to be even more misleading.

Besides which, a handshake is something that someone should just know how to do, as it’s an extension of who they are as a person.

I don’t think anyone showed me how to do one, although that might be me just not remembering.

How I remember learning how to shake hands was mostly through the act of doing so.

Despite working in customer service over the phones for a long time, I still had the opportunity to shake hands with a number of people, and whilst I did not initially associate handshakes with personality (at least, not as far as I was consciously aware), I noticed that a fair bit of the time certain people would give certain handshakes and eventually I began to find myself placing a bit more importance on them as time went on.

If only I could put as much importance on my studies…

Anyway, I should try and get to what I wanted to post about.

On Tuesday, after I had finished for the day, I was hanging with a new friend who was waiting for her boyfriend to finish his last lecture for the day before heading home.

I decided to wait around as well as I thought I would be fine with killing time for a few extra minutes.

Her boyfriend came out, we met, he crushed my hand.

I’ll admit that I’m not that strong a person, but I would like to believe that I give a firm handshake and usually try to match the strength that someone else is putting in.

However, this felt more like the person was trying to overpower me.

I didn’t think too much about it for a few minutes, but I could not help but dwell on it as the three of us were walking toward a bus stop. Things seemed fairly sociable at that point, but the handshake felt very insecure, almost as though this person was trying to assert domination and telling me to keep distance.

If this is indeed the case, then the person has nothing to worry about as I’m not interested in his partner beyond friendship. Besides which, I find it difficult to show respect or regard for someone who tries to assert some sort of authority and dominance in such a manner.

You have to earn respect and not demand it due to insecurity of what you may or may not consider what is yours.

Trying to demand it does not work with me.

If this is not the case, then they need to learn how to do a handshake.

I would like to believe that it meant nothing, but, considering how it was delivered, I can’t help but feel as though it was not accidental.

However, if I’m wrong, then I’m wrong.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

