Five-Hundred Word Challenge 132: That’s the Point of the Joke

Yesterday I had to get a copy of my passport cited as being a copy of the original, so I decided that the best course of action would be to take the copy to a police station and get it cited there.

It was mostly out of convenience.

In other words, it was entirely out of convenience.

So I made my way to the police station after a hard day of not doing much at university, outside of my required obligations that I brought unto myself willingly, thus only having myself to blame for them, but not before getting something to eat at a place I eat at semi-regularly whilst also having a chat with one of the staff there.

After eating a meal that was as tasty as it was delicious, I sauntered merrily to the police station and not in any way as though I wanted to get what I wanted done done and out of the way so I could go buy milk and make my way home (and take some photos on the way as well).

I walked in and advised my reason for being there at that particular moment in time as opposed to any other, although there was no explanation as to why I was not there at any other time, for it would have served no purpose to explain that to the police officers that were within my immediate vision.

One of them came to the front desk and cited my copy whilst I was telling them why I was doing it (mostly to make small chat and to highlight the absurdity of why I was getting the copy cited [I may be remembering that incorrectly and it might have just been purely for the purpose of small chat]).

After the officer had finished and began walking back to where they were sitting, I said to them “I’m sorry I didn’t have anything more exciting, although that may be a good thing”.

They replied by saying “Next time bring a knife with you”.

I had a second or three where I was trying to think of something funny to say.
Not having much, I said “That might not end well for me”.

After a few more seconds of silence, the officer responded with “That’s the point of the joke, mate”.

I left it at that, thanked them, said “have a good evening”, and left.

I was expecting the officer to recognise that I was making a follow-up for them to build off, despite the flatness of it.

As this did not happen, I was left feeling somewhat bewildered by them not realising that I was joking.

Their delivery of the final sentence was curt and dry, just like the delivery of their joke, leaving me feeling as though they didn’t realise that I knew it was a joke.

I think that I outwitted the police officer and it was by accident.

I’m not sure and I partially hope that it’s not the case.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 12:25:05

Slower than I hoped, but I’m not too fussed as I wrote about something I found bewildering.

Written at my (new) desk at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

