Thirsty Merc Story

A while ago (during a period from 2006 to 2007, whilst I was still a teenager but slowly inching my way away from being one) I had a job in Surry Hills.

It wasn’t the greatest job I’ve ever had and it’s not something that I necessarily feel the need to go into detail about here because this is now what this post is going to be about, although part of it will be explained as it gives some sort of context that may or may not be relevant.

Anyway, it was in an office and it was shift-based work (in that there were three shifts per day, with them starting in the morning and ending in the evening [the first shift was three hours long, whilst the other two were four hours long]).

One day after working an afternoon shift, I was heading to Central Station when I saw Thirsty Merc getting into their Thirsty Merc car (I recognised that it was Thirsty Merc form the Afro of the front-man and I imagine their car is actually called the Mercmobile, but unfortunately I cannot confirm this).

As I was approaching, I said loudly “Hey, you’re Thirsty Merc!”, to the front-man, to which he responded with “Yeah”.

I then followed up with “…You guys are alright”.

The front-man responded with “Thanks”.

I was still walking whilst this brief exchange happened so they didn’t see my face when I started wondering to myself as to why I said that.

I do not like Thirsty Merc. I know that some people like them a fair bit, but I do not think they are good or enjoyable in the slightest.

At this point in time, I wanted to tell them they sucked, so my first thought immediately after was probably something along the lines of “What the hell did I just say?” – probably something slightly different, but that’s a fairly close approximation.

I remember that beyond that, there was no exchange and I did manage to catch my train, so there wasn’t too much time lost, but still, it was a moment that has managed to etch itself into my memory quite firmly, probably as a reminder for a moment in time when I wasn’t as honest as I wish I had been, although saying something like “You suck!” is not as constructive as it can be (although I do like just how blunt and direct it is, as it’s much like a brick to the face in a way, although probably less painful).

And that’s my Thirsty Merc story.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

