From Waterfall to Loftus

I started the walk a bit later in the day than I had originally planned. I can’t remember if this was due to just leaving late, or going to get breakfast beforehand, but either way, it is what happened and I’m okay with that.

Once I left Waterfall Station, I took a few photos, then began to make my way to where the actual walk started.

The first portion was a fire trail that was interesting to an extent.

There were some nice things to see and I was lucky enough to get a photo of a black cockatoo, so that made me happy. Other than that, it was like most other fire trails.

Eventually it ended in a clearing with a public access toilet.

I spent a few minutes doing not much other than looking around before I decided to use the toilet, followed by following the path that continued from my location that was there at the time.

After a few more minutes I could hear a waterfall, so I decided to find where it was coming from.

It was a steep descent but it wasn’t too difficult.

Once I reached the bottom, there was a stream. The waterfall was to the left of where I was standing.

I took the time to take a few photos and relax before heading back up and continuing on the walk.

I felt that I spent a bit too much time around the waterfall so I walked at a fast pace. However, it wasn’t long until I reached another location that attracted my attention.

As I followed the gradually ascending track, the plant life quickly reduced in density.
The view (and some of the track) began to open up and revealed beautiful valleys and hills.

I walked out to a ridge and took in the view for a while, making sure to take some photos.
Winds were strong, but it wasn’t too much of a deterrent.

Eventually I got back to walking, trying to go as fast as I could. I didn’t have too much time left before I had to reach my destination. There were a few quick stops to take a few more pictures though, as I was still enjoying the views quite a fair bit. At one point I could see the moon, so I took a few shots. There was dust showing up, but I got lucky in that it disappeared after a quick sensor clean.

Further along I came across a mower. Not being something that I expected to see, I took a few shots and continued along.

After a while, the path began to head down into a valley, leading to Audley Weir.
During this time I landed really hard on my bad foot, which lead to some fun for about a week.

Audley Weir was a wide open area on the Port Hacking River. It was nice and shady, but I did not have the time to stop there for much time, so I kept on walking.

Once I crossed two bridges, I checked how much time I had to reach my destination. It was about twenty minutes. Ahead of me was many steep sections on a track that was 1.2 kilometres long.

I powered through it and made it to the end with a few minutes to spare. Content with this, I successfully took a wrong turn. When I realised this, I hurried back and located the tram platform I was trying to reach so I could catch it to Loftus Train Station so I could get home.

The platform had grass on its surface. The cover that ran along the platform was old and had a few holes in it, but it was still functioning as intended.

I sat down on a bench and waited a few minutes, hoping it wouldn’t be too long a wait.

Getting reception, I checked the timetable for it so I could see how long I’d be waiting.

It wasn’t running on that day.

I got up and followed the tram track to Loftus.
Luckily enough the walk wasn’t too long.

As I was nearing the exit of the Royal National Park, I saw a toilet that had been smashed next to the tram track. One of my first thoughts was “Nobody shits that hard”. I took some pictures, then walked a bit further along. I turned back and took some more pictures, then went back to walking.

There was a fence to my right and some buildings beyond it. I found a hole and walked around them. They looked like they were being used by people, but some of them had been trashed.

Once I was done checking them out, I walked back to the smashed toilet and took more pictures.

It might not seem that amazing a thing to take pictures of, but I was starting to feel really tired and drained at this point and seeing it out of its natural habitat had left me perplexed.

Once I could no longer follow the tram track, I passed through some plants and followed a footpath the rest of the way to Loftus Station. There wasn’t a long wait before the train came.

It probably doesn’t read as being interesting, but it was a good day.

I got a bunch of nice shots and the walk was fairly satisfying.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

