Five-Hundred Word Challenge 122: Theories About a Non-event That Happened Yesterday

Yesterday, whilst a co-worker and I were on the train whilst heading home from work, I took off the beanie I was wearing and said something about having the balding look (as a small part of my hair was kind of doing its own thing and lifting away from the rest of my hair, whilst the top of my hair was mostly flat).

I should note that my hair is getting long, so the joke didn’t quite work.

But anyway, when I said this, someone behind us turned around and stared at me for a number of seconds before turning back.

I only noticed this as I saw them in my peripheral vision.

Now, I have to wonder as to what I said caused this person to turn around and stare.

Well, I don’t as, ultimately, it’s immaterial, but still, I am going to choose to wonder and theorise.

Perhaps the person felt indignant and offended as they were balding and knew the look that I was talking about. However, they did not appear to be balding, so I’m fairly certain that this was not the case.

Maybe they felt disgusted by the fact that someone dressed the way I dress (fairly casually) would have the gall to make such a silly remark as, being dressed the way I was could only mean that I’m part of the unwashed masses and do not have any right to say something silly or something that could be perceived as some sort of rebellion. This is also a massive stretch, so I’m going to choose to rule it out immediately.

Perhaps they were just offended by the fact that I chose to say something on a train.

Maybe they heard what I said and found themselves at odds about what to feel due to the contrast between the resonance of my voice and the silliness of the words that came out of my mouth immediately after the removal of the beanie that I was wearing, only being able to stare whilst they tried to sort out their confusion that lead them to question the oddness of the situation (which was not odd in the slightest, despite a young male with long hair talking about the balding look, which still doesn’t make it odd), therefore leading to a situation that was more awkward for them than anything as they slowly began to comprehend the non-situation unfolding in front of them, narrowly avoiding some sort of existential crisis that could lead to them becoming lost in a sea of anguish and self-flagellation that they would be unable to break out of.

I’m going to say that this is the most likely of the reasons.

Maybe they overheard me and were curious as to what I meant and had a look and, seeing what I meant, thought to themselves something and then looked away as there wasn’t actually much to see.

I think this is highly unlikely though as no one would do that.

Not ever.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 09:55:72

I thought about writing about this last night, but I didn’t, so here it is!

I think my imagination is still strong.

I think.

Written at UNSW Library.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

