One Thousand Word Challenge 3: It’s Raining and I’m Procrastinating

The rain is falling today.

As opposed to not falling.

Today is a Sunday and I’m waiting for it to rain a little less, although I find that I’ll be chained to my desk even if it stops raining as there is a lot of work to be done before exams, which are coming up soon, and I need to do as much work as I can to ensure that I do better than I would if I chose to not study and procrastinate the days away before flying into a panic and try to cram as much into my head as possible the night before, inevitably leading to my downfall which would lead to me doing the subjects again but possibly thinking that I could nail it, not study as hard as I should to ensure I do well, therefore leading to another series of failures.

I do like the rain quite a lot, but right now I don’t want it around. I’d rather the day be a little it sunnier, but this is a minor complaint.

It’s just that, at this stage, the novelty has worn off as it’s been raining quite a fair bit since yesterday.

Still, I can’t complain. I’m dry and inside and preparing to listen to many lectures, taking notes and then applying what I learn to be the best at everything that there ever could be.

With that being said, there are other things that I should be taking care of today as well, such as cleaning the house. That will end up on the back-burner for the day as the most important thing is to study and study hard and well, but it shall be done, because I need to do some cleaning due to being lazy as and avoiding as much responsibility as possible over the past few weeks; something that I’m not proud of, but shall tackle very slowly.

At least I have a nice view of the rain, watching all the water fall and hit the ground, slightly creating a splash when something is a little more than damp, leading to many at once and creating great little patterns that I can try and take pictures of, hoping to get something that is truly great and then slowly work on processing them to show them as I saw them unless I decide to play around a lot more than I usually would, creating something that is amazingly stylish beyond comprehension, therefore reshaping how something is done sometimes, leading to something else that will inevitably something blank blank something else something something blank.

I think I lost myself there, but such is the way of things when I’m trying to type as fast as I possibly can to keep up with my thoughts that seem to be racing ahead of me right now, just like the hare being outpaced by the tortoise who happens to actually be really fast but pretends to be slow just to lower everyone’s guard.

I swear, the hare did not fall asleep. What probably actually happened was that the tortoise was going quite fast and the hare had a lot of trouble keeping up.

Eventually the tortoise won. Being the colossal jerk that it was, it pointed this out continuously to the hare, who was also a jerk, but less so than the tortoise.

So the hare was rather angry about the tortoise continually gloating and rubbing the victory in the hare’s face that it turned to darkness.

During its sleep a few months later, the hare, throwing all notions of morality away, killed the tortoise in its sleep. No one saw it coming and no one ever found out.

Of course, despite the hare having done this, it could not undo the win, so it decided to slowly change the story of how it all went down and said that it fell asleep due to its arrogance and the tortoise managed to pass the hare and win, despite having a handicap.

Eventually, as time went by and it slowly spread beyond those that knew, it warped into the version we know today, because history is written by the victors and not a jerk tortoise that could outpace everything with great ease.

I know that doesn’t make complete sense, but you have to trust me on this one. It’s the truth, I swear!

Or don’t.

Well, with that aside, I really think I need to start doing stuff. I need to make sure I know as much as I can know. I need to clean. I need to go to the toilet.

Maybe I can pull something profound out before I’m done with this post.

Let’s see now… There’s a certain beauty that can be found in watching rain. A droplet falls fast and down before it reaches something and becomes something else.

Perhaps that, in watching the rain, we realise our limited mortality and see that we too have to be part of something bigger than ourselves, but also need to be own selves at the same time.

It’s easy to start and end, but it’s the gestures and impact that we have that ends up defining us once we’re gone.

Well, now that that’s out of the way, I don’t know what else to write right now.

I think that it really is time for me to start digging into the well of information and doing my best to learn what I can.

Either that or I could put a photo up. I don’t know.

This isn’t very interesting to read at this point, but to be honest, I was hoping to be able to come up with something far better than what has been written here.

I guess I wasn’t too successful, but at least something profound came out of it.
Although, could living your life be the most profound thing ever?

I don’t know, but that… something… I don’t know.

That’s okay though.

Oh… here’s something else:

Don’t be a jerk.

The time it took to write one thousand words: 18:44:72

I’m pretty happy with that time.

Maybe I’m getting better at this. I mean, the above is average at best, but I was certainly able to knock it out!

Written at my (new) desk at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

