One Thousand Word Challenge 1: an Extra Challenge

It’s time for an upgrade, and by that, I mean an increase of pressure to see if I can churn out more words in a short amount of time based on things that aren’t really considered, such as how fast I run when I’m in a trance, or how often a bird lays an egg when an orange bears no flowers under a grey moon of decadent taxation!

No, that does not make sense, but  maybe it does if you care to try and decipher the secret code in there, assuming there is one (hint: there isn’t).

Well, now that I’ve got that out of the way, I can now proclaim”oh no”.

Oh no.

Yes, I’ve decided to increase the word limit and start a new set of challenges to see if I can do the same with more.

Or, perhaps it’s more with less.

No. It’s definitely the same with more. However, I find that, in my ongoing quest to create the ultimate impenetrable mass of text (that is to say, I’m trying to imply that my writing is grandly profound, despite it not being so), the word count needs to be increased so I can continue to keep on going to see if I can do the same with a greater word count.

I think I’ve repeated myself there. Right now, I do not care.

So, the reason as to why I’m doing this is that I’ve been considering doing it for a while. I keep finding myself going over the five-hundred word limit that I set myself. Usually it’s only by a few words but sometimes it’s by more than a few.

Another reason is that, whilst I do like the limit of five-hundred words and how it forces me to try and be creative (usually to mediocre results), I should start seeing if I can write interesting stuff over a greater word count.

I still am going to try and further my stream-of-conscious writing because I do think that working on writing on the fly, trying to come up with things without thinking too much about them is something that is greatly important.

I do believe that it will help me become a better writer.

Essentially, this will sit alongside the already existing challenge and perhaps they will work together to make me the greatest of ever that ever was, in some sort of amazing revolutionary… revolution… that will revolutionise writing for all people as they continue to look upon with amaze and wonder and continually praise my presence with cheese and lamingtons.

Oh, how I miss lamingtons.

I have not had one for  a while now and I love how they taste.

Anyway… yeah.

So I am trying to become a better writer and forcing something upon myself that I’m probably going to have a bit of difficulty with for a while, but then again, part of the fun is the challenge that I’m choosing to undertake and if it leads to greater things, then that’s a plus for me at the end of the day.

Now, I’ve go to think about how long I’ll set for myself.

Seeing as I’m doubling the word count, I should also probably double the time limit.

At the same time, It probably should be a bit less, as I’m pretty sure that currently most of the five-hundred word challenges (well, at least more than twenty) are under ten minutes.

With that being said, I’ll probably set it to twenty minutes and see how well I work with that for a while.

So long as I’m putting myself in this position… I’ve got nothing to finish that sentence with.

So, one thousand words in twenty minutes should suffice.

If I’m good and fast enough, then I’ll lower the time limit, but for now, twenty it shall be as it will at least give me a good gauge of how well I can handle this, assuming I can handle it at all.

If I can’t handle it, then, well, I only have myself to blame and therefore I should try and find out how to work best with the (admittedly fairly loose) constraints I’m setting myself to try and get one thousand words typed up.

Sometimes one should back out of a challenge, but this is definitely not one I’m going to back out of as I think I can do it well with enough working and working and typing and typing and slowly driving myself over the edge in some sort of text orgy of decadence and arrogant tomfoolery.

If you couldn’t tell, I’m already struggling, but that’s part of the fun!

Yes, fun. A thing I used to know once before I decided that… nope… still have nothing.

Surprising I know.

As always, I  do hope that you find these entertaining and enjoyable to some extent, regardless of how well (or poorly) they’re written, as I’d rather people enjoy what I put out than not.

So, with that all being said, I should probably get back to work as I have a fair bit to take care of before the day is over.

However, I still have a fair number of words to go, so now I’ve got to try and work out what else I can say.

Oh.

I also think this will help me with writing assignments for university due to more thinking on my feet (or not thinking at all), because if I can knock out a number of words, then most of my drafts for written assignments could start out with bare information and a lot of fluff so then I have a base to work off and slowly trim them down and expand certain points until I’ve the best assignments to hand in that have ever been seen.

Of course, that’s what I’d like to believe, so that is most definitely what I’m going to believe.

Better than something that is incredibly negative.

So, without further ado, you’re at the end of this.

The time it took to write one thousand words: 17:32:64

I’m fairly happy with that time.
Not so happy with the text, but it’s now written and it stand where it lies.

So… yeah. Now I’ve an extra challenge. Huzzah. I think.

Written at work.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

