Five-Hundred Word Challenge 103: A thing that happened on Sunday

An interesting thing happened to me on Sunday.

I was at a train station with my food shopping.
I took a few pictures of train tracks for my next submission into “Monochrome Madness” using my phone (as my camera is in the shop once again, or still, if I have mentioned anything about it since the start of March).

I first had one station agent come up to me telling me that I could not cross the yellow line.

I was crouching down and leaning slightly forward, but my centre of gravity was lower as I was not leaning too far forward.
He warned me that a train could come along and it was a safety concern.

Whilst he was correct, I told him I was fine and was just taking a picture of the tracks.
Besides which, at the station I was doing this, there was not going to be a train on that side of the platform for another ten to fifteen minutes and non-stopping trains don’t pass through there either.

Well, to be fair, it would be better for me to say that I’ve ever seen any non-stopping trains pass through there.

Anyway, another station agent came up and told me that I was not allowed to take photos on the platform as it was illegal due to security reasons.
I said that it was public property and there was nothing wrong with what I was doing.
He told me that it was illegal due to security reasons.

I said that there was nothing wrong with what I was doing.
I told him I was just taking a picture of the section of track that was directly in front of me.

He told me that it was illegal due to security reasons and if I continued he would call the police.

I told him I wasn’t going to blow up the station and that there was nothing wrong with what I was doing.

I tried to show him the picture I took to show him how harmless it was but he wouldn’t look.

He again told me that if I continued he would call the police.

I had stopped taking picture before the first time.

After a bit more back-and-forth, he repeated the “continue… police” bit again.

I was walking away by this point.

Now, it turns out that it is not actually illegal to take photos at a train station.

You need to ask for permission first and you’ll either be told you can and given a tag (perhaps with a form to fill out as well), or refused.

I found out on the internet and confirmed it at Town Hall station when I arrived there to change to a bus to head home and also talk to the station attendant there.

I have no problem with asking for permission, but I do take offense to having police action used as a threat or warning, because it’s a rather extreme reaction considering what I was doing.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 10:48:73

A bit slower, but that’s because I have been fairly quiet here.

Oh well.

Now, with all of this being said, I have to point out that the tone of the guy was also pretty unpleasant.
He also didn’t advise me of permission being required.
I was fairly calm throughout the whole thing, so I’m happy about that.

Also, what I wrote isn’t verbatim, but it’s pretty close.

Written from my”new” desk at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Life and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

