The Revenant Review

The Revenant is a great film that I am glad to watch.

It starts off with some hunting and then an attack that some of the characters, including Leonardo DiCaprio and his son in the film, escape.

Eventually Leonardo DiCaprio is left for dead, but manages to survive.

Crawling his way to survival and eventually walking again, he ends up teaming up with a bear that, despite having differences in personality, find common ground and relation, and work towards taking down a Colombian drug cartel, lead by the man who decided to abandon him in his darkest hour.

The film is amazing.
The script is strong; the film is shot well.
The pacing is on point and the minimalist use of music allows people to reach their own conclusions about what to feel instead of being outright told what to feel.

The scene that features the tiger peeling skulls for flowers to bloom from the cranium whilst the bear and DiCaprio play chess whilst discussing the ultimate fate of the universe whilst holding off bad guys in a stealthy and unexpected manner is a highlight.

It is an esoteric sui generes buddy cop film and I’m glad I saw it.

——

So I saw The Revenant recently and whilst I enjoyed it (especially the dialogue being mostly kept to a minimum), I kind of wish that it was more like the above.

It was made well, but I felt that it suffered from the opposite of a problem I felt Star Wars Episode VII: The Force Awakens had: It felt as though it could have been shorter.

Still, I do think it is worth seeing as, whilst there are some moments that aren’t as strong as they could be (I can understand the use of CGI, but sometimes its use is too obvious and sometimes it does seem like you’re being told what to feel), it is a decent film.

There are some really great shots that are beautiful, whether they be more of the environment or of the characters.

Also, given the nature of the film, the acting is more physically driven than it is dialogue driven.
Given the nature of the film, it paid off.

I recommend seeing it.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Revenant Review

  1. Ompong says:

    It will be shown here in Manila next week I think. Thanks for the review.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. lulu says:

    The Revenant was the most intensely brutal movie I’ve seen in a very long time. It was astounding cinematography and Leonardo DiCaprio was amazing, but it was hard to watch.

    Liked by 2 people

  3. Sara McIntyre says:

    As much as I love this review and the film, I’m concerned as to why you chose the name ‘stupidity hole’. I’m sorry but I’m intrigued.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

