The Floating Torii

Here are some pictures of the famous torii that can be found at 厳島神社 (Itsukushima Shrine), which is on 厳島 (Itsukushima).

From what I’ve read, the shrine has been destroyed a few times and the current torii hasn’t been around for too long.
With that being said, the torii feels quite nice to see, especially at high tide (which is the optimal time to see it) as its angular structure looks like it’s floating, with the reflection adding to its beauty.

I’m not too sure as to what I could possibly say about the torii other than what has been said before.
Whilst I have some respect for it and appreciate its appearance and spiritual importance, I didn’t and still don’t care much for it.
I thought there were greater things to see in Japan.

However, it was worth seeing and I think that, if you’re planning on going to Japan, you should go check it out.

I would recommend at high tide early in the morning if you can, as there will be significantly less people around.

I don’t think all of these photos are good (although, there was one that didn’t make it as it made the torii look like a toy to me), but they were chosen as I felt it was important to show the torii at different angles.
I don’t know how much it contributes to information about it, but I don’t see a point in viewing it from only a couple of angles, so that’s what I wanted to add (if it hasn’t been done before).

The third photo is what I’ve chosen as my thirty-eighth photo for Leanne Cole‘s “Monochrome Madness“.

I hope you enjoy.

IMG_0387 IMG_0416 IMG_0719 IMG_0732 IMG_0818 IMG_0827

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Floating Torii

  1. bymarion says:

    I really like the angle on the first photo that makes the people look so tiny, and then the alignment of the roof, the mountain and the cloud on the last one.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The last one is from the shrine itself.

      it was a pretty good view.

      I’m glad the angle of the first photo makes people look small, but it has more to do with the size of the torii.

      I was hoping to be able to provide a more exciting response than that, but saying something like the torii shrinks you as you approach it, but I did not have anything more exciting.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

