Five-Hundred Word Challenge 79: Waiting for a Call

Right now, I’m feeling somewhat stressed.

It’s been a long time since I’ve been unemployed for this long.
I do have to admit that being unemployed for a month and eight days is not really a long time, but to me it feels like quite a while, probably due to how long my last job lasted.

I’m beginning to feel that getting a new job is kind of like a race against the amount of funds I have to support myself with and whilst there are unemployment benefits available once I run out of money, I live in a very expensive city.

It might not be the most expensive, but it certainly is up there.

Since being unemployed, I’ve had two job interviews.

Two were initial interviews with an employment agency and the other two were job interviews that were for organisations hiring through those employment agencies.

I didn’t get the first one as whilst they liked me, they felt I didn’t have the right kind of experience required for the role.

I can understand the reasoning behind that and at the same time not.

Obviously you’d want someone who can adapt to something quite easily, but I’m also someone who has been working for eleven years (although I only list work on my résumé for nine-years-and-seven-months of my time working as before then it was pretty messy), whilst being under thirty.

That’s probably a lot more common than I think it is, but I’d like to believe that, despite most of it being from one organisation, it might just suggest that I might be within an age demographic that appeals to employers (I’ve heard it said that getting employment can become more difficult the older you are, regardless of how solid your experience may be), whilst having some fairly solid experience that will be of great benefit.

That was before Christmas. I didn’t search for anything again until Tuesday of this week as I got lazy and the usual quiet period when nearing Christmas and New Year’s celebrations.

For the job I applied for, I had an interview on Wednesday and then had the interview with the organisation yesterday.

Everything seemed to go pretty well and I came out of the interview feeling pretty chuffed as both the interview with the organisation and the agency felt really relaxed and professional.

I was told I’d get a call back today about starting on Monday but I have not received that call.

I tried to contact the agency but to no avail.

Despite knowing that it shouldn’t, it does worry me somewhat as I’m left not knowing as to whether I have the job or not.

I have an interview with another organisation on Wednesday next week, but I’d rather not go for that job as I need part-time due to study and the job is full-time.

Ultimately I know I’ll be fine and I’ll get a job before I run out of money, but I’d rather have a job soon.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 13:58:81
Slower than other recent ones, but it’s been the first time in a while that I’ve had the happenings be the entirety of the post (I think).

I wanted to do something more serious here, so I decided to write about my hunt for work.
I also needed to vent about the second job I applied for.

Looking for work is a frustrating process I’ve found, as I have applied for a few jobs, although I might rant about that in the next challenge.

Still, as said, I know I’ll be fine.

Anyway, I’m going to now go for a walk and take photos to help blow off some steam.

Written at my desk at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Work and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

