Five-Hundred Word Challenge 73: A Malevolent Force in the Kitchen

I’m currently feeling quite hungry.
I know that I should go to my kitchen and make myself something to eat.

I would make a snack, but it would be easier to make an early dinner that is equal amounts filling and delicious.

However, The kitchen is a bit too far away from where I am right now.

Five metres is just a little too far away to travel to make food.

Well, approximately five metres. I don’t have a ruler on me right now to check the exact distance.

The odd thing about this is that, at the job that just wrapped up, I would go to the work kitchen whenever I felt like it was necessary  and that was much further away from my desk than my kitchen at home is from where I am sitting right now.

I think it has something to do with the fact that if I go into the kitchen, I will be forced into a position where I have to use effort that I could be using elsewhere.

Either that or… there is some sort of malevolent force that… will suck my effort away if I go into the kitchen!

That makes a lot more sense and sounds much more truthful than what the “truth” actually is.

I haven’t had any issues with passing through the kitchen, but that’s probably because I’m not spending too much time in there if I’m passing through.

If I spend more than a few seconds in there though, I will be caught in the force’s web and will slowly be sucked dry of anything even remotely resembling effort until I become some sort of non-amorphous blob that will do not much more than make vary slowly, lazy movements and gestures that will refuse to get off the couch unless it is absolutely necessary.

Well, I don’t want that to happen!

Maybe it would end up sucking most of my life away as well, which would lead to my being only being a representation of who I am in a purely physical sense.

I’ll be there, but as I wouldn’t really exist beyond my physical presence, I wouldn’t be there.

People would try to talk to me, but they’d only get vague, flat responses that would lead to nowhere and would indicate that something is missing.

Something… internally… wouldn’t be there anymore all because I spent too long in the kitchen instead of remaining where I had originally been, remaining hungry, as whilst I would be hungry, I wouldn’t fall victim to this malevolent force that is waiting for me to drop my guard, go in and make myself an appetising meal that I would hungrily wolf down.

Although I wouldn’t be able to eat it. I would be drained before I could start preparing the ingredients of a meal fit for a me.

I could just go in and exert my effort to destroy the malevolent force, then make myself something.

That would actually be pretty easy.

The time it took to write five-hundred words:  9:59:95
Only a few hundredths of a second under!
I was surprised I was able to write this with as much ease as I did as I am feeling quite hungry and am contemplating an early dinner.
Still, much to do before then!

Despite being in the “Fiction” category, the kitchen at my now ex-work place was farther away from my desk there than my kitchen at home is from where I am currently.

That might seem like superfluous knowledge, but it might just come in handy one day.

Written at my desk at home.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

