Five-Hundred Word Challenge 59: A Forest Sprouts From my Lecturer’s Mouth

On Tuesdays I have two lectures for the subject I am doing over the summer semester at my university.

The second lecturer of that day is a very dry lecturer.
He doesn’t emote much or speak with any obvious energy or enthusiasm.

I don’t necessarily have a problem with this, as he is also clear and concise in what he is saying, ensuring that the information is delivered with minimal confusion.

However, I’ve noticed that it can still be a bit of a hard slog.

On Tuesday this week, I did lose focus at one point.

When I got back into listening, I noticed a small bud slowly creeping it’s way out of his mouth.

For obvious reasons, I considered this odd.

As it poked out, it began to bloom.

The lecturer remained calm and collected and continued to talk, as though what was happening was not significant in any way.

Soon vines and other plants began to snake their way out of his mouth at an increasing pace, but he kept on talking, not noticing what was happening.

Maybe he did but instead chose to persevere.

The speed of the growth accelerated continuously, slowing creating a thick, dense forest that surrounded the lecture room, as well as a fair portion of what was outside of it.

Eventually it stopped.

I could not believe what had just happened, as it’s not normally something you expect to see in your life.

A forest had come out of the mouth of my lecturer, during his dry delivery of information I needed to learn.

A forest that was thick, dense, and luscious.

It was certainly going to attract wildlife that had not been seen in the area for an incredibly long time.

I did not know what to do and felt, to an extent, unable to escape this marvel of nature.

There was still a whole world out there waiting for me, but whose to say that I couldn’t just reject it all and choose to live in this new growth?

However, I chose to stay to the end of the lecture and head home after instead of changing my life around.

Despite no longer being able to see him, his voice echoed through the forest, clear and knowledgeable.

Whilst there was no way to locate him (as it was impossible to tell as to where his voice was coming from), he remained dedicated to finishing the lecture.

It was difficult to tell if he didn’t care that he had a forest growing from his mouth or if he was too stubborn to stop, but if he was going to continue, then the least I could do was remain and listen.

It remained easy to understand and he still was in possession of clarity, despite what had just happened.

So I sat there, taking notes, listening to what he was saying so I could absorb as much of the information as possible.

I wouldn’t have been able to learn more if I left.

The time it took to write five-hundred words: 13:26:45

I had this idea during the second lecture on Tuesday as my mind began to wander a bit too much during it.

It didn’t turn out as well as I had hoped, but at least I’ve finished it now.

This was written in bed.

About stupidityhole

I'm some guy that does stuff. The standards. Creating amazing effigies, scaling mountains using my feet only and replacing the very fabric of reality. Serious time! I enjoy writing. I make music in some of my spare time. Currently working somewhat full time and studying as well. Also working on self-improvement. Hoping to one day fill the internet with enough insane ramblings to impress a cannibal rat ship. I have a page called MS Paint Masterpieces that you may be interested in checking out.
This entry was posted in Fiction and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

